Mullet Monday

QUIT JOB

I cannot believe I honestly quit my job last Thursday…..without having another job….Yes, I did that. The job started out great – my title being a Warehouse Manager at an industrial equipment company. If you’ve followed my blog for a while you’ll remember I worked for a toxic arrogant asshole that screamed at his employees. I honestly thought I was moving onto a much larger corporate environment that would help me to grow and advance. Unfortunately, not all of the responsibilities were presented to me during the interview process. Let me break it down for you…..It was supposed to be a management position with five employees working for me. I was told it was a smooth running department and that what was expected of me was to provided budget reporting and finding ways to increase revenue. I would have my own office with A/C and be guiding my team and coming up with new ways for them to be more efficient.

The details they left out were the department was severely understaffed and the five employees did not get along at all. They fought all day to the extent of screaming at each other and acting like children. They grab each other in the ass, tell each other to go fuck themselves, hiding each other’s cell phones, coming to me tattling on each other, and the list goes on.

QUIT MY JOB MM

They all worked hard but they were so negative and toxic. They hated their jobs and complained all the time. I tried to boost the morale by bringing breakfast, building them up, rewarding them for behaving and thanking them for working so hard. The warehouse they worked in had no A/C and it was easily over 100 degrees with no ventilation and they were lifting heavy items and on the move all day. I joined them four hours a day because we were so behind and understaffed. I had weekly meetings with my manager and director and stressed to them how understaffed we were and how I was unable to keep up with my responsibilities in generating revenue. They tuned that out and within two days they took two of my guys away from me to help out another department. It was as if we were already beat down and while we were down they kicked us in the ribs and then held us down with weights in the ocean and left us to drown.

The next day my manager asked for his reports and I told him I didn’t have time to do the reports since we were two men down. “Don’t be a smart ass bitch Lennon. Are you seriously pouting because I took two of your guys?” I walked over to him and asked him to look out of my office window down at the warehouse. Boxes were stacked and you couldn’t even see the three guys below on the floor because there were so many boxes to unpack. There were two trucks backing into the doc delivering more orders and I expressed to him I wasn’t sure how we were going to get everything put away or shipped out to customer’s. He said “make it happen, it’s all about direction and pushing your people as hard as you can”.

QUIT MY JOB

One of my employees also kept comparing me to the previous warehouse manager and how I would never be as good as he was. I finally just had enough. I typed up a resignation letter and didn’t say a word to anyone. I left when it was time to close up and never looked back. Below is my resignation letter…..

I’ve not quite made it to my 90 days yet but today was my last day. Not only is the 90 day probation period for you to make sure I’m meeting your expectations but it’s also for me as well to figure out if you meet mine.
I honestly had no idea how understaffed you were nor did you inform me of that during the interview process.   I certainly wanted a challenge but I had no clue it would be this difficult. I strongly suggest putting on some steal toed boots and rolling up your sleeves for a day or two and sampling the parts warehouse day to day hurdles.You can check my e-mails, take the technician calls, handle the petty cash, quote and process tire orders, pick and pull parts, help unload trucks, move tires around, etc. It would be a good learning experience so you’ll know the responsibilities for the next candidate and explain the position in full detail so they’re prepared for it. Your company is currently past due with several vendors. That’s pretty scary. Technician’s are having to use their own cash to purchase items for customers.
Another issue is the returns that the technicians bring in daily. The restocking fees and freight charges have to be hitting your bottom line. I actually e-mailed an example of one situation where parts were ordered for a customer before the customer approved the quote which was over $10,000 worth of parts + freight of $795 and now we have to return it with a restocking fee of $2,000.00 along with whatever the freight will cost to return it to the supplier as the customer stated they’re not going to approve the quote. You’re taking hit after hit on restocking fees and although I’ve brought it to your attention you didn’t even acknowledge it. We might be able to pay our bills if we didn’t have so many returns and paid so many restocking fees.

I hope you figure out a new way to manage this department. I also hope that you describe this position correctly this time for the next person that attempts to run it. This is not a good fit for me at all.

The next day I found another job with another company but this time I’ll be a service administrator. Less money and less stress. I’m happy about that. I just don’t think I want to manage people anymore. Maybe it’s me…..maybe I’m not a good manager. Either way, I accept that and I’m excited for a new journey. Sometimes, you just have to take a look at the position you’re in and admit you fucked up. But, then again, if I didn’t take that chance I would’ve never gotten out of the other toxic job I was in. Baby steps 🙂

 

 

22 comments

  1. John Fioravanti · July 31

    Gee, Lennon – this is a shock. Good for you that you didn’t try to hang in there any longer – sounds like your manager needed a pink slip. Congrats on the new job! Hope it works out well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 31

      It was shocking to me too. I had really high hopes with this opportunity. Happiness means more to me than any amount of money though. There’s nothing worse than dreading going into work. I believe I’ll enjoy being on the service side, something new, and I need a change 🙂 Thanks John!

      Like

  2. sonofabeach96 · July 31

    Work sucks. Not the work itself, mind you. But the collateral crap that comes along with it, from shitty bosses, to lame coworkers, to corporate bullshit. Hope the new gig is better. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 31

      It sure does. Wish we could all just be comfortable in our jobs. It’s just not common anymore to be happy at work I suppose. But, that means everything to me. I’m tired of working for assholes. I have a good feeling about the new gig. I really liked this guys personality and energy. Thanks Tony!

      Liked by 1 person

      • sonofabeach96 · July 31

        Glad to hear that. Hope it works out well…and that he doesn’t turn out to be another asshat. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Chañel Robe · July 31

    You are my new heroine!!!! Congrats on the new job Lennon and for being badass enough to acknowledge when you don’t fit and rectifying the misfit. I’m impressed. Continue to make those baby steps.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 31

      Awe, thanks Chanel! It was fucking scary leaving it behind me but I’m just thankful I found something so quickly. Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chañel Robe · July 31

        I’ve come to realize one door rarely closes without another opening. I’m sure you will do great on the new job.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · July 31

        Very true and thank you so much!

        Like

  4. lonelykeyboards · July 31

    Hi Lennon, Bruce here (Vinyl Connection,in another outfit).
    Sound like a ghastly environment that would only continue to get worse, given the lack of management, leadership or communication skills. So good on you for walking away. BTW, for what it’s worth, I sure don’t think you fucked up when the company misrepresented the job, staff, conditions and general environment. What they did is called ‘lying’. In that context, your resignation letter was remarkably respectful and restrained. Good luck with the next position.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The V Pub · July 31

    I guess there’s something to the adage “if it sounds too good to be true….”. You did the right thing, Lennon. That company sounds completely dysfunctional and it’s not worth your effort or mental health, to try to fix it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 31

      Thanks Rob! It was mentally and physically exhausting. But, who knew I could lift batteries, cases of oil, etc. I lost 29 lbs in the 6 weeks I was there LOL Glad it’s over though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • The V Pub · July 31

        That’s a tough diet to be on, Lennon! lol But it’s nice that something positive came of that experience.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. what sandra thinks · July 31

    First of all… YOU didn’t fuck up! That company clearly left out a lot of important info before you took the job. That’s really shitty. I think your resignation letter was great. They were terrible at running their business! And they never listened to you when you tried to help. That’s just ridiculous.

    I’m so glad you found something else so quickly! Obviously you know that I know how stressful it is having no job. Even if the new job is less money, I think it’s worth it to lose the ridiculous level of stress and everything else you were dealing with.

    People always tell me things happen for a reason (and then I want to punch them in the face)… but I do think it’s good that you got out of the job before this one… even if this job didn’t work out. You’d be miserable if you were still there! And I don’t care what anyone says… I think we need to be at least reasonably happy with our jobs. It shouldn’t be just working for a paycheck no matter how miserable you are (although my husband says it’s for the paycheck… but he’s a tool). Too many hours are spent at work to be miserable there.

    Okay, I’m going to shut up now. But I’m happy for you that you got out of that terrible situation. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Woebegone but Hopeful · August 1

    Hey Lennon. Glad you got out in one piece. Sorry you had to put up with that. Lord, how it does sound familiar (though without the screaming- brits don’t do screaming). I’ve been there several times in more ‘polite’ and ‘subtle’ ways but I know it. When you have to jump you have to jump, before you go down with the whole ship.
    Of course your manager was an anal cavity of the greater sort. Anyone who says ‘Make it happen’ is basically admitting ‘How the %%*!@ do I know! I’m incompetent, but I get away with it by sweating, swearing and shouting a lot’ – just the sort who couldn’t organise a bar fight on a Saturday night. (well that’s the polite and pc correct version).
    All the very best in your new job.
    Remember what Edison said ‘I’ve not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that don’t work’.
    Good resignation letter by the way.
    Best wishes
    Roger

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · August 2

      Thank you Roger! The corporate business world sure has changed a lot over the years. I hope this next opportunity is the forever career that I’m searching for 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Woebegone but Hopeful · August 2

        Best wishes in your new job Lennon.
        Perseverance does pay, you’ll get there. You’re Lennon!! 👍
        (‘Make it happen’…pffffft! the guy is some kinda reject from a circle jerk)

        Like

  8. K E Garland · August 3

    Way to go Lennon! Making a change is scary for sure, but you’re right. It was time to leave the first toxic space and it didn’t take you long to realize you had to leave the second! I’m super proud of you. A lot of people would just suck it up day after day and end up miserable. But not you, my friend…CONGRATULATIONS on making the right decision for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · August 3

      Thanks Doll! I really appreciate it. I’m thankful for my hubby that supports me 1000% and is my biggest cheerleader…enough so that he told me to quit and that he had my back for six months if I needed a break to find exactly what I wanted to make me happy. I’m sure he’s thrilled it didn’t take 6 months, but it’s nice to know he had my back all along 🙂

      Like

  9. Simon · August 20

    Hi ya, just catching up on your blog. You’re always so awesome how you live your life. ☺️

    Like

Leave a Reply

