A Song A Day Challenge – Part IV

My really good friend Sandra tagged me to join in the ‘a song a day challenge’ and I’m playing along 🙂 You can check out Sandra’s blog above and tell her Hi for me!

The rules.

Post a song a day for five consecutive days
Post the name of the song and video
Post what the lyrics mean to you (optional)
Nominate two different bloggers each day of the challenge

Please, pretty please do not feel obligated. I now realize I have quite of friends named John 🙂 Here are my nominee’s:

John

John

My song choice today is “Thank U” by Alanis Morissette – The reason I picked this song is I feel like it was a growing up kind of song for me. A song speaking to me about maturity through Alanis Morissette, Yes! She’s had so many hits but this one is my favorite…..she’s singing about responsibility, owning our actions, with a lot of sarcasm and what about this video and her standing there naked? That’s something right? And guys and dolls, tomorrow is the last day of me posting this challenge, sigh…I know you’re sick of it….Ha!

Lyrics

How ’bout getting off these antibiotics
How ’bout stopping eating when I’m full up
How ’bout them transparent dangling carrots
How ’bout that ever elusive kudo

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you thank you silence

How ’bout me not blaming you for everything
How ’bout me enjoying the moment for once
How ’bout how good it feels to finally forgive you
How ’bout grieving it all one at a time

Thank you India
Thank you terror
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you frailty
Thank you consequence
Thank you thank you silence

The moment I let go of it was the moment
I got more than I could handle
The moment I jumped off of it
Was the moment I touched down

How ’bout no longer being masochistic
How ’bout remembering your divinity
How ’bout unabashedly bawling your eyes out
How ’bout not equating death with stopping

Thank you India
Thank you providence
Thank you disillusionment
Thank you nothingness
Thank you clarity
Thank you thank you silence

 

 

12 comments

  1. what sandra thinks · April 5

    It’s such a long challenge! I’m sorry I dragged you into it. ♥ Really, after 2 or 3 days, I could have stopped. And now I’m posting music this whole month!

    I remember exactly what was going on in my life when this song came out. I’d like to go back and make some changes… 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 5

      😂😂😂 I wanted to participate! But I don’t have the energy to do it a whole month. I have comittment issues…. Next week I’ll be on vacation with family so I plan on catching up on some much needed blog reading 💜

      Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · April 6

        Ooh… I want a vacation. Come kidnap me so I won’t feel like a bad mom for running away! 🙂 I owe you an email — it’s been way too long. I started and then it became April. How pathetic! I have to finish that email… I have some things I want to share that I think you’ll appreciate! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · April 6

        Girl, I wish I could kidnap you! We’d have a blast!!! Looking forward to your e-mail. Not sure how much e-mailing I’ll be able to do there because I hate e-mailing from my phone 😦 My thumbs are lazy Ha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · April 6

        Oh I hate emailing from my phone, too. I totally get that! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · April 6

        Not sure if you feel comfortable or not but you can e-mail me your cell if you want and I can text or if you don’t have unlimited texting I’ll just e-mail you short e-mails 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · April 6

        Oh… I have unlimited everything… I’m emailing you already… Still typing… I will send it in a little bit!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · April 6

        Yay!!!! 😘

        Liked by 1 person

  2. K E Garland · April 7

    I’ve never heard of this song, but I like Alanis Morissette. But why is she naked ma’am? Am I missing something?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 7

      You know I have no idea why she’s naked….to get noticed….attention….you know sex/nudity sales so maybe a publicity thing? Love the song though. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 2loud2oldmusic · April 7

    Thanks! I can’t promise I can fully commit to this, but thanks for the shout out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

