Pretty Pretty Please

I’ve written on this subject before. I have a few friends that suffer from depression. Bipolar depression. It runs in my family too. I’m one of the fortunate ones that hasn’t had a problem with depression before. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of things wrong with me… RMS (Restless Mouth Syndrome), overly confident, bossy, and the list goes on. But, it’s extremely hard on people with depression as there are days where they don’t feel like they’re enough. They feel as if their world is swallowing them up. They’re in pain mentally and trapped by these voices in their heads putting them down constantly.

I don’t necessarily understand it all but I can tell you it’s hurting them tremendously. My heart aches for these people. I have one friend that I adore. She struggles daily and has had this horrible sickness her entire life. She’s so talented, smart, funny, witty, sarcastic and just overall one of the most beautiful people I know. But yet, she can’t find that happiness and is constantly in the fight with those horrible demons in her head telling her she’s not good enough. I’ve told her in the past to punch those demons in the throat and tell them to fuck off. If only it were that easy…..I’m a fixer. I want to fix people. I want the whole world to be happy and confident and accepting of each other and themselves. Why can’t I fix it? Why can’t we fix ourselves? Life isn’t fair sometimes is it?

Well, maybe this is a little start. This is such a good song and when I hear it I think of my friends that suffer from depression and have such a difficulty getting out of bed and functioning. I hope this helps just a tiny bit today for those who are suffering with depression. With whatever battle you’re fighting whether it’s being body shamed, bullied, not fitting in, not meeting societies standards add this song to your playlist and I assure you it will get you through some tough days. P!nk is such an amazing artist and the words are incredible. So, turn up the volume and remember you’re enough.

As for my friend, whether you believe it or not, pretty, pretty, please, don’t you ever, ever feel like you’re less than fucking perfect.

 

16 comments

  1. ladieswholunchreviews · February 23

    I just sang along with this song in the car yesterday. It’s very empowering!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simon · February 23

    You’re a star Lennon 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful · February 23

    Dam’ straight Lennon! You’re an angel for your friend, God Bless her.
    I’m familiar with the old ‘d’, been hanging around me for most of my life, pretty small stuff in comparison with some folk. In the end I chose to be just ‘SFW’ to the world, love my family, stamp down the demons and try to be light.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · February 23

      I would’ve never known you suffered from the D. I’m so sorry my friend. Well, you’re fuckin perfect too! The battle rages but you’re stronger, remember that. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. what sandra thinks · February 24

    You may be the best person ever. This post is beautiful… as are you. It brought me to tears. Sometimes, I wish I could be a whole different person… as long as I still have you as my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. America On Coffee · February 25

    Yes she is perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

