Catching Up….

How was everyone’s Christmas? I hope everyone enjoyed time with their families whether they were near or far. I know the holidays can be pretty stressful at times….especially if you’ve lost a family member or are going through a break up or just missing someone.

This year was different for us. We normally stay home and have a quiet Christmas but not this year. We headed to my  hometown early Saturday morning to meet friends for coffee and to catch up. That was somewhat normal other than us quoting lines from a few movies which consisted of “I don’t rock thongs. I have a very fussy taint.” < Sisters > And if you’ve not seen that movie, please do so, Amy Poehler and Tina Fey are hilarious in it. We also mentioned the word pussy a few times and before we knew it everyone that was sitting near us had moved to a table farther away. Trust me, there were no children around, we’re not that horrible…well maybe we are.

After we left Starbucks we headed to the hospital where my Step Dad was. I wanted to visit him as the day before he had symptoms of numbness in his hands and arms and felt light headed. As I walked into his hospital room he was sitting on the edge of the bed tapping his feet and grinning ear to ear. I said “I’m here to bust you out, pack your shit!” Of course he busted out laughing. He said my Mom was on her way and that the Dr was releasing him and that they couldn’t find anything wrong other than maybe he needed to see a shrink. Sounded about right to me. They believe that his BP and heart rate was really low which caused the symptoms and told him to only take one pill instead of two that his primary doctor had prescribed. So, that was fantastic news. He was able to go home and we were set to be there Christmas for lunch. After the hospital and lunch with my Mom and my Step Dad we headed over to my Aunt’s house which is the other side of the family. This Aunt is my Dad’s little sister. She’s the only family I have left on that side and she’s a lot like me.

My Aunt had planned a cocktail party for Christmas Eve with friends and my Uncle’s side of the family. We played a lot of drinking games, gambling games, sang at the top of our lungs, and enjoyed incredible appetizers. This all started around 6 pm but by 9 pm we were all pretty tipsy. So much so that I began singing “Errbody in the club gettin tipsy” and then my Uncle found it on his phone and blasted it and before I knew it even the eighty year old’s were bobbing their heads to it. I also might have been shocked by something and not by accident. I don’t quite remember it but was told I stuck my finger in a bug zapper and sparks flew. What the what right? When the night ended I was feeling pretty good but a little dizzy. Thankfully no one threw up and none of us were hungover Christmas morning.

So on Christmas morning we headed to the nursing home to pick up my Grandma and took her over to my Mom’s and we cooked and all had lunch together. Even my brother came over to eat with us and we reminisced and looked at old pictures, laughed and hugged and really had a great time.

You know what was so great about this Christmas? None of us exchanged gifts. There was no pressure. We all ate, drank and were merry. It was probably the most memorable Christmas ever. It’s not about the gifts. It’s about celebrating our savior’s birth and also spending time with the ones that we love.

I’ll leave you with my favorite holiday song. Of course, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is my all time favorite movie, probably because it reminds me so much of my family. So, enjoy this acoustic version of Holiday Road.

XOXO

19 comments

  1. John W. Howell · December 27

    Sounds terrific. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Simon · December 27

    Missed you over Christmas. I’m glad you had a good time! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. socialbridge · December 27

    Sounds like you had a ball, Lennon. I can’t imagine any get-together being dull with you around. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. K E Garland · December 27

    Omgosh! I was obviously at the wrong house this Christmas lol Hope your New Year’s Eve is just as exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wendy · December 28

    What a beautiful day! Very inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. what sandra thinks · December 28

    I’m glad you had such a great holiday. Sounds like lots of fun. And the no-gifts thing… sometimes I think that would do wonders for my holiday celebrations! Way too stressful as it is now…!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · December 28

      The whole gift thing is stressful and ridiculous if you ask me. I get it, the kids should get gifts but the adults, no way, we can buy ourselves whatever we want. Hope you had a good Christmas girl!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Just Joan · December 28

    You sound like the life of the party, Lennon! My hubby was sick with a cold, so we stayed home. Our oven broke so we got takeout from our favorite Indian place. Hot chocolate with Kahlua. TV. Quite nice, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. T. Wayne · December 28

    Glad to hear that you had a great Christmas, Lennon!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jonathan · December 28

    I’ve never heard that song (off to look it up immediately) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · December 28

      I think you’ll like it. Make sure you check out the Lyndsey Buckingham version versus Matt Pond.

      Like

Leave a Reply

