80’s Part I Male Artists/Hits + Cars

This week we begin the 80’s era of music & cars. I remember more from the 80’s than I do from just last week. So many fun times in the 80’s. I could wear my hair naturally without doing a damn thing to it because big hair was in. It was the day and age of Aqua net, jelly shoes, bright neon colors, head bands, big belts, and epic music.

1981 – The Cars – Shake It Up – I am a big Cars fan. I loved them so much it’s part of the reason I chose my vanity plate on my mustang. SHKITUP Such a fabulous song!

1981 Red Cadillac Eldorado Convertible – What a classic right? Beautiful car.

81-cadillac

1982 – Michael Jackson – Beat It – RIP MJ – You had so many hits and there wasn’t one that I didn’t like. But, this one, this is my FAVORITE. Loved the video, the song, the dancing, every single thing about it.

1982 Lamborghini Countach 5000S – There’s something about a Lambo that I love. Maybe the clean curvy lines or just how fast it will go.

82-lambo

1983 Duran Duran – The Reflex – This one brings back fun memories of my friends and I dancing around in our PJ’s with tennis rackets, maracas, and bed posts using them as microphones or for air guitar. We LOVED Duran Duran. Bow down to their hair too will ya? They had fabulous hair, you have to admit.

1984 – Kenny Loggins – Footloose – I had numerous slumber parties and we would watch this movie over and over again. We were so crazy about Kevin Bacon. πŸ™‚

1984 Chevy Monte Carlo SS – One of my dearest friends had one of these and we loved it. I can remember wearing bikinis and washing it every Saturday that summer. This was a bad ass car.

84-monte-carlo-ss-detroit-speed

1987 Def Leppard – Pour Some Sugar On Me – No matter where you’re at…when this song comes on and Rick Allen (Drummer) rolls out the beat you feel an electric shock run through your veins….

1987 Ford Mustang Notchback – One of my best friends had one of these with T-Tops and we would cruise for hours blaring Def Leppard and racing guys in this hot fast ride.

87-ford-mustang-notchback

1988 Billy Ocean – Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car – This song makes me want to get up and do my white girl dance….you know the one that Carlton always did on Fresh Prince Of Belair? I can’t get enough of Billy Ocean. I recently (a month or so ago) saw him on The Tonight Show with The Roots and he sounded amazing, hasn’t changed much at all. He just has long dreads now but same ole’ Billy – he’s simply incredible!

1988 VW Rabbit Cabriolet – All of the cool cheerleaders drove these in high school. I wanted one so bad. But honestly, this car didn’t fit my personality. I wasn’t a cheerleader, I actually tried out and wasn’t good enough…I was more of the type of girl that needed a big motor in my car so I could race boys. But, this was a cute little ride. I always loved them.

87-vw-rabbit-cabriolet

This wraps up this segment. Stay tuned for my Monday post. Not sure if I’ll have time to do a Mullet Monday. I might need to recycle one of my older posts for our Monday boost. Have a great Sunday loves!

19 comments

  1. Damon · November 20, 2016

    What a great time it really was. Thanks & have a great Sunday πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Joan · November 20, 2016

    Wasn’t into the hot/muscle cars (went to Prom in a pick-up truck!) but loved every one of these songs. Thanks for SHKN UP my Sunday morning! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. what sandra thinks · November 20, 2016

    Duran Duran… John Taylor… so gorgeous. I love that guy. Yum! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John W. Howell · November 20, 2016

    I have an affinity to the 1988 VW Rabbit Cabriolet. I wanted one but talked myself into a 1988 Porshe Carrera Cabriolet instead. I was never sorry except when my wife took it as part of the divorce settlement.(I thought she hated that car. Oh wait! now I get it)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Clive · November 20, 2016

    I know nothing about cars, but I love the Cars. You Might Think is my favourite, but there are so many to choose from! Good to see Def Leppard getting a mention too!

    Did you know that Kevin Bacon has been on our tv screens a lot recently here in the U.K.? Advertising for one of our mobile (cellphone) networks 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · November 20, 2016

      Lucky y’all getting to see Kev in commercials. Last year I got my fix watching The Following with him in it. Not sure if it will come back on this year or not. Dark thrilling show for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Clive · November 20, 2016

        Once you’ve seen him in a red Britney Spears-style Lycra catsuit you don’t want to see him again!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · November 20, 2016

        Wait. What???? OMG That’s hilarious πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Clive · November 20, 2016

        It may be leather. See for yourself 😊 https://youtu.be/JKMdtPCRIdw

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · November 20, 2016

        Awe…..it says “This video cannot be viewed in your country” can’t watch it over here which sucks but thanks for

        Like

      • Lennon Carlyle · November 20, 2016

        Trying….hit send before I was done πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Clive · November 20, 2016

        That’s a shame, didn’t think of that. Might be worth looking on YouTube to see if someone has saved a version you can see there. You won’t regret it 😊

        Like

  6. grandfathersky · November 21, 2016

    Remember the car wash scene in “Cool Hand Luke” ? All the inmates were praying for the safety pin to let go … πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

