1960’s Male Artists/Hits + Cars

I’ve been patiently waiting for months to start this series. This will probably be my favorite series EVER. I love cars….basically I love fast cars in general. I wanted to do a series with male artists and of course cars. Let’s put the pedal to the medal and crank up some music shall we? Although I wasn’t even thought of in the 60’s I am a big fan of 60’s music.

The Who – My Generation – 1965 – This is my go to song when I’m leaving work and it’s 74 degrees and I’ve got the top down and I’m on the interstate driving 80 – 90 mph and my hair whipping in the wind. There’s not a better feeling….not even chocolate and sex. Ha! So, whether you have a motorcycle, camaro, mini van, or SUV, roll the windows down and blast this rebellious song and free your inhibitions.

For this year, I chose this 1965 Buick Riviera, isn’t she sexy? Love the color too. Photo Credit: Top Notch Customs…..65-buick-riviera-cred-top-notch-customs

The Temptations – Ain’t Too Proud To Beg – Not only do I love to hear their music but I can’t get enough of their performances. No matter where you are or what you’re doing when you hear those voices and the harmony you have to snap your fingers and sing along don’t you?

1966 Cadillac DeVille – Photo Credit: DaddyDerek CarDomain …..Smooth, luxurious, stunning…Sigh….

66-cadillac-deville

The Doors – Light My Fire – 1967 – Jim Morris had swag before we ever knew what the fuck swag meant didn’t he? Incredible vocals and he made everyone want to be bad didn’t he?

This song I thought needed a 1967 Pontiac GTO – This is the kind of car where you almost have a wreck when you stretch your neck to take a better look at it. Photo Credit: ClassicCars.com

gto-1967-classiccars

The Beatles – Come Together – 1969 – I cannot stress to you how much I love the Beatles. I mean, My blog name is Lennon?! Why couldn’t my parents have been die hard Beatles fans and named me this? I have tons of T-shirts, a huge poster in my guest room, coffee mugs and my vanity plate on my mustang is “SHKITUP” I wanted Twist & Shout but too many letters. These guys laid down some incredible tracks. They were a phenomenon in their time and it was well deserved.

I chose the 1969 MGB for this year, Photo Credit: Pinterest & Classicar Garage

69-mgb

Hoping you’re digging this series….stay tuned for next Sunday’s 70’s edition!

 

 

 

 

 

16 comments

  1. what sandra thinks · October 30

    Cool! I love old cars…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy · October 30

    Nice.
    We watched a cool Rock-u-metary on Netflix this weekend. Muscle Shoals. It was so cool to see how this little backwater town in Alabama influenced some of the greatest music. The photos of the Rolling Stones, Aretha Franklin, Percy Sledge, Bob Segar…and the music was amazing.
    Love your idea for this series!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josh Wrenn · October 30

    My GTO was a 66

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 30

      Wait…What? You had a 66 GTO? Woah!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josh Wrenn · October 30

        Yup. With tri-power and everything. Great car… In the Summer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · October 30

        Wow….you sold it I’m assuming?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Josh Wrenn · October 30

        Yeah. Couldn’t afford to give it the proper care it deserved. That car sucked gas, only ever really was reliable in the Summer, and should never have been a daily driver. I hope whoever bought it has treated it well.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · October 31

        I’m positive that GTO is being spoiled rotten!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. grandfathersky · October 31

    Maybellene, why can’t you be true (Check Berry)! Have you ever been to the Auto Museum in Myrtle Beach – Awesome collection?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kimboxin · November 1

    Love it! I’m a classic car girl too. Top choices: ’68 Camaro or ’63 T-top corvette!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

