The 2000’s-Female Artists/Hits, part II

Lex Jones, here.  I am excited to guest post in this next installment of Lennon’s series “The 2000’s-Female Artists/Hits”.  Lennon kicked it off well last week with several of my favorites!  This week, I plan to take you on an obscure journey with a little of this and a little of that…because that’s music today.  It’s a wonderful compilation of sounds and styles, where individuality rules.  That being said, let’s kick this segment off with Florence + The Machine.

Their first album, Lungs, says it all.  Florence Welch can sing her arse off.  I especially love her backstory…she was discovered by her future manager, singing in the “loo”.  The band is known for their eclectic live performances, and Florence’s voice is unmistakable.  I will never forget the first time I heard their breakout hit, “Dog Days Are Over” while driving to Chattanooga for work.  I was traveling down a narrow mountain road and had to keep myself from driving too fast.  The song energized me and it went on to serve as the opener on my divorce playlist. “Happiness hit her like a train on a track….”

There is something about the next artist’s voice that just makes me happy…the lovely Corinne Bailey Rae.  She came onto the music scene in the mid-2000’s and I’ve loved her since.  While most people recognize her for “Put Your Records On” my favorite is, “Like a Star.”  In fact, that is the song I sing to my daughter at night. I’ve been singing it to her since she was born and now at age 3, she sings along with me.  I watched Corinne Bailey Rae perform a cover of Zepplin’s “Since I’ve Been Loving You” on Austin City Limits and was blown away.  She just brings her own jazzy twist anything she sings.  In fact, she won a Grammy for her cover of Bob Marley’s “Is This Love” in 2010.  But for me, my fave is “Like a Star”

How can we discuss the 2000’s without mentioning Norah Jones?  I wore her debut album…OUT.  Had to buy another copy…one for the house and one for the car.  Come Away with Me, was an amazing blend of musically-infused, dreamy songs that took me on a journey every time I listened to it.  I cannot pick one out as a favorite, because I loved them ALL. I loved her next album.  I loved her collaboration with Wyclef Jean to benefit victims of Hurricane Katrina, on the song, “Any Other Day.”  And I loved her song, “Happy Pills” In fact, that was the second song on the “playlist” I mentioned above. (You know the one)

Growing up, I loved Queen. And I still do!  Freddie Mercury was such an amazing talent and the true definition of a front-man.  I mention him to introduce my next artist, Lady Gaga. Her name is derived from Queen’s song, “Radio Gaga” but came as a result of predictive text.  She and her manager would greet each other by singing “Radio Gaga” and when he attempted to text her that, autocorrect changed it to “Lady Gaga” and the rest is history.  Just like Freddie Mercury, Lady Gaga is the full package…the ultimate entertainer.  I love all of her songs, but “Bad Romance” lures me in every time I hear it. And if memory serves, I do believe Lennon saw Lady Gaga in concert. That’s likely its own post!

I hope you enjoyed this little segment of musical magic. Stay tuned for next week’s post…I am sure Lennon will close out the series with a serious party!

8 comments

  1. what sandra thinks · October 16

    These are great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lex Jones · October 19

      Thank you, Sandra. My taste can be a bit obscure sometimes. Glad you liked them!
      Appreciate the comments!
      Lex

      Liked by 1 person

  2. strugglingwriter · October 17

    I ❤ Florence + The Machine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lex Jones · October 19

      Me too! They are truly authentic
      Thanks for the comments!
      -Lex

      Like

  3. bensbitterblog · October 18

    I’m a huge Flo & the Machine fan. That girl can sing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lex Jones · October 19

    She is a powerhouse! I think the title of her first album says it all..LUNGS

    Like

  5. zamierandsip · March 7

    Big fan of Florence and big fan of Corinne. All of their albums combined are super impressive

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

