Good To Go

The first time I heard this song I knew I had to blog about it. The lyrics struck a cord as they say….”You’ve been down before, You’ve been hurt before, You got up before, You’ll be good to go, good to go”….

When I listen to That’s My Girl, I think of all my girls that work their asses off and are possibly making less than the men in their office. She walks in to the house every evening with a smile on her face and when her hubby asks how was your day and she says fine and asks about his and he tells her everything that went on that day. She has issues at work but she doesn’t complain, she lets him vent. She does the laundry, cooks dinner, does the grocery shopping, pays the bills, gets the kids off to soccer, helps her elderly parents, and the list goes on and on. Most women have the instinct to take care of everyone else but themselves. I also think of my girls that are struggling that can’t find a job although they try really hard. I think of my girl that committed suicide because her vile ex husband made her think she was worthless and didn’t deserve to live. My mind drifts to myself many years ago and how I put up with an abusive husband allowing him to talk down to me and make me feel meaningless. I think of the little girls today waiting for the school bus to pick them up and what are they dreaming of? I can’t help but think of the women fighting cancer and getting their rounds of chemo and radiation. We don’t know what each of us are going through….I know one thing, we should lift each other up ALWAYS and never ever tear each other down.

So remember girls, you’ve got this. When you’re having the worst day or just feel sorry for yourself or maybe you’re having a depressed moment, a melt down or whatever, crank this shit up and remember who the fuck you are. Can you do that for me? Look this song  up now on spotify, itunes, google play, whatever the hell you’re using and I’ll be singing along in my car with the top down and cheering for ya 🙂

Side Note: Coming up today is a post about the 2000’s Female Artist Series so be on the lookout for that too!

7 comments

  1. what sandra thinks · October 16, 2016

    You’re the best… Sometimes we feel like no one is in our corner… but then you post this. I almost believe I can do things I thought I couldn’t do. (Or at least that I can try…) I’ve felt overwhelmed lately so, of course, I concentrate on everyone else’s needs… not mine. It’s easier! Why is it easier? It should be just as easy to take care of me…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 16, 2016

      So true but we like taking care of others and our brains have tunnel vision only focusing on others. We’re difficult creatures that’s for sure. Just know you’re worthy of beautiful things like happiness and shit 😂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. angsfamilysandwich · October 16, 2016

    Love the song, but LOVE your post! It’s easy to get lost in the mix of everyone else’s needs…but we have to take care ourselves! Perfect song to get us ready for the week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 16, 2016

      Thank you Doll! You know you are the girl that came to mind immediately when I heard this! 🙂

      Like

  3. Just Joan · October 17, 2016

    Thanks Lennon. Great song and post. We girls gotta stick together, build each other up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

