The 2000’s – Female Artists/Hits

So today we’re starting the 2000’s….so many exceptional female artists in this era. Let’s get it started!

Aaliyah – Rock The Boat – As you know, she died in a plane crash in 2001. Gone way too soon. Such a remarkable artist. I can only imagine how many more hits she would’ve graced us with if she were still alive. RIP Gorgeous.

Gwen Stefani – Hollaback Girl – You can always count on Gwen to get the girls fired up with her hits. She’s epic, tough, magnificently talented. She’s definitely a fashion goddess and when she sings we listen no doubt. Ha! I had throw in the no doubt seeing as that’s where she started, No Doubt was the shit!

Missy Elliott – Gossip Folks / Now this is my very favorite Missy song. We all know how people gossip. She wrote some mad lyrics for this one and I love the dance moves in the school hallway. Most of all I love it when Missy incorporates the kids into her videos and these kids can drop it like it’s hot. Anytime Missy & Timbaland collaborate it’s a hit.

Fergie – London Bridge – Who doesn’t love Fergie? Not only did we love her in The Black Eyed Peas but when she branched out to do her own thing, she dropped the base. For Realz.

Janet Jackson – All For You – I know…I’ve already featured Janet in a previous era but come on…how could I not feature her again? This song. This video. She’s perfection. Love it.

Nelly Furtado  –  Promiscuous – (Featuring Timbaland) – Sigh…I love me some Nelly. She has this raspy thing going on and when you hear her voice you instantly know it’s her. Add Timbaland to any beat and it’s going to be fabulous.

That’s all for this part of the 2000’s. I might have one more segment or two. I’m undecided. But, stay tuned as in a few weeks I’m starting over and it’s all about the guys. Yep, you didn’t think I wouldn’t include some fellas did you? Lennon likes the dudes so she has to share her favorites 🙂

 

9 comments

  1. Simon · October 9

    You’ve got to love all of these girls, by fav I think is Fergie. Amazing in so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 9

      Thanks for stopping by! Yes Fergie is fantastic. My hubby is crazy about her. For his 40th I had a Fergie birthday cake made for him 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Simon · October 9

        A Fergie birthday cake… I know she’s tasty but that’s silly

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lex Jones · October 9

    Awesome list! Gwen, Missy, Fergie and NELLY! I’m a huge fan of her too. And the beautiful Aaliyah (her grandfather was a patient at one of my nursing centers. Had her gold record on his wall and a picture of them dancing together when she was very young…she was standing on his feet❤️So sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 2loud2oldmusic · October 9

    Nice start to the series. Aalyiah was definitely a talent and a life cut way too short!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa A. · October 9

    I was obsessed with that Nelly Furtado song you included. Gwen Stefani also had a lot of hits. Fergie was good too.

    Like

  5. T. Wayne · October 9

    That’s a great list. I almost forget about Nelly Furtado. I think I read where she is still making music, but I haven’t seen much of it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. K E Garland · October 11

    👌🏾

    Like

Leave a Reply

