1990’s Finale – Part IV Female Artists/Hits By Lennon

Hey Everyone, It’s the end of the 90’s era I’m afraid for this Female Artists Hits Series. I hope you’ve enjoyed this era as much as I have.

SWV – I’m So Into You – This girl group had it goin’ on! I was hooked instantly to their harmony. Smooth beats and sultry voices.

Mary J. Blige – I’m Goin’ Down – Come on now….who doesn’t love this Queen? MJB was destined to be a star. This song, man, I love it. She will give you chills up your spine with that powerful voice.

Britney Spears – (You Drive Me) Crazy – I know, she lip syncs every time she performs. But when she records her music, she makes money making hits. I’ve always been a Britney fan. Nope, I’ll never pay to see her perform live but I’ll listen to her pop music anytime. This was one of my very favorites.

Jade – Don’t Walk Away – I hate to say it but this is the only song I’ve ever heard from Jade but I can remember bobbing my head to it and learning their sexy moves. I can also remember wearing my cut off shorts with the combat boots too. Yikes.

Destiny’s Child – Bug A Boo – This is when DC hit the scene and this was my joint. I went to the beach when this first came out and I was with four of my girlfriends. We sang the hell out of this song all week too.

Christina Aguilera – What A Girl Wants – Sigh….Christina Darling, you came out strong, killin’ it! She was this tiny little powerhouse that shook things up. We loved her and still do. She gets better and better every time she comes out with something new.

TLC – No Scrubs – They were iconic weren’t they? From their song Unpretty, Baby Baby Baby, to this one – unforgettable. RIP Lisa Left Eye Lopes

Garbage – Stupid Girl – Shirley Manson wasn’t fucking around. She came to take names. Can I put bad ass and classic in the same sentence? Who cares, she was both.

Missy Elliot / Nicole Wray- Make It Hot – Nicole Wray had this raspy voice that was one of a kind. The hook to this was obsessive and haunting wasn’t it? Missy comes in at the end and shakes the walls a bit with her rhymes. I’m a gigantic fan of Missy and I’ll have more on her in the 2000’s. She’s my girl!

Stay tuned for next weeks 2000 – 2010 series of female artist. Can’t wait!

9 comments

  1. T. Wayne · October 2, 2016

    Jade…Jade?
    YASSSSS!

    Love this list…all belong. Though the “music nerd” in me must note that the Mary J. track is a cover of an old song from Rose Royce from back in 1976.

    Just me nitpicking…but a great list. Can’t wait until you start the next post in the series! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 2, 2016

      Well who knew??? Appreciate your expertise of course!

      Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne · October 2, 2016

        LOL!

        Still, though. Any list of 90’s females has to have Mary J. on the list, no matter the song!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Josh Wrenn · October 2, 2016

    I like Garbage.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 2loud2oldmusic · October 2, 2016

    Nice list and great series. I liked all those women, but TLC was my favorite. Maybe it is the Atlanta connection (since I from the ATL)..nah…it was the music. They were so talented.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · October 2, 2016

      Yes! So very talented! I live in the ATL too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • 2loud2oldmusic · October 2, 2016

        I think I remember that from a prior post. I’ve been gone for almost 3 years, but it will always be a large part of me. Falcons won!! But my Panthers lost. I am little torn on whether to be happy or sad.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. what sandra thinks · October 3, 2016

    Garbage is awesome…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. K E Garland · October 4, 2016

    🙌🏾

    Like

Leave a Reply

