1990’s Part III Female Artists/Hits By Lennon

Welcome to the country segment of the 90’s. Wait, don’t go?! I know, I know, you would’ve never thought I’d post country now would you? Well, back in the day when I lived in the mountains of Tennessee I hadΒ  a ton of girlfriends that loved country and they loved line dancing and going to country concerts. So, I went with the flow. I began listening to country. Back in the 90’s there was something different about it. It felt like home to me listening to it. Country music makes you feel welcomed. There were strong female country artists that wrote and sang from the heart. So, why not take you down my memory lane? Maybe I can persuade you to dip your toe in the muddy water? Ha. Give it a listen….

Chely Wright – Single White Female – Let’s chat about Chely….she is one of the very first country artists to announce that she’s a lesbian. That was in 2010 and she came out to raise concern about bullying and hate crimes against being gay. I have a deep respect for this woman. She hid her sexuality for years and finally stepped up. I commend her for being brave and inspiring others. This song is amazing by the way and she is strikingly beautiful.

Faith Hill – The Way You Love Me – I had a serious woman crush on Faith. Come on, she is gorgeous and her songs really got to me. She’s a fantastic performer too.

Dixie Chicks – Sin Wagon – These chicks were the black sheep of country music. They were meant to be heard. They had something to say. Whether you agreed with their lyrics or not you were going to listen. They had a rockabilly feel that you just couldn’t stop listening to. Their fashion taste was off the charts and they shook things up for sure.

Shania Twain – That Don’t Impress Me Much – Well she impressed us all didn’t she? Sexy, stunning, a voice that wouldn’t quit…Shania was a star and still is. She had a tough childhood and made something of herself regardless of the speed bumps along the way.

Martina McBride – Wild Angels – This little firecracker has a very powerful voice. Her songs always had heart. They were deep and relevant in each hit. She had no problem expressing herself.

SHeDAISY – Lucky 4 You – When I listen to this group it puts a smile on my face. They’re quirky, fun, fabulous and are sisters. The harmonization between their voices….on point. These girls got me through some tough times with their songs.

So there’s my little piece of country for all of you. Come back next Sunday for Part IV (finale) of the 90’s female artist hits – I hope you enjoyed this segment!

17 comments

  1. K E Garland · September 25, 2016

    Poor Dixie Chicks! After they spoke out about George W., we didn’t hear much from them again.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. sonofabeach96 · September 25, 2016

    I liked the Dixie Chicks. And Natalie Maines is friggin awesome! πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lady G · September 25, 2016

    Dixie Chicks! YAAASSS! I liked “Goodbye Earl” or whatever the name of that song was. Chile “Earl had to die!”
    LOL!!
    I always thought that Shania Twain was so pretty.
    Nice post lady!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · September 25, 2016

      Thanks Lady G! I don’t really listen to country anymore but back in the day I was all about it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. what sandra thinks · September 25, 2016

    Country music will be playing on repeat for all eternity when I get to HELL. It is the worst possible punishment for me!

    Like

  5. T. Wayne · September 26, 2016

    Great post, friend! I wasn’t that much into country, but my sister was. She was a big fan of Shania Twain, and she liked some of Martina McBride’s songs too. McBride has a really great voice, I always liked her song “In My Daughter’s Eyes.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just Joan · September 26, 2016

    I suspected from a prior post (where you were “fixin to do something”) that you had a bit of country in you. As Donny and Marie Osmond would have said, you’re a little bit country, and a little bit rock-n-roll! Whoa, showing my age there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Woebegone but Hopeful · September 26, 2016

    As usual discovered Shania Twain and Dixie Chicks years after everyone else. And now I have discovered the others!
    Thanks Lennon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

