1990’s Part II Female Artists/Hits – By Lennon

The 90’s were an adventurous time for female artists.  It was edgier beats and unabashed lyrics. It was a significant era to say the least. Some artists made you want to wear flannel, some made us think we could get away with not wearing a bra or shaving our armpits. But, there were some that inspired us to move provocatively and to embrace our feminine side along with our sexuality. Either way, it was monumental without a doubt.

En Vogue – My Lovin’ You’re Never Gonna Get It – A few things come to mind when I think of En Vogue – High-Class, Ingenious, Seductive, and Fearless. These ladies were skilled and arrived to show us females it was time to take charge. They were serious business loves.

Mariah Carey – Fantasy Featuring O.D.B. aka Ol’ Dirty Bastard – RIP ODB (His sound was electric and when you heard his rhymes you knew who it was instantly…his style was original and everlasting) Now, let’s chat about Mariah, this was her time. Mariah is still going strong today but something about her in the 90’s was effervescent. She quickly became our pop sweetheart. She was radiant, shining, naturally beautiful and that remarkable voice….she was is one of a kind.

Queen Latifah – U.N.I.T.Y. Ok, so things have changed a little since Q came out with this one. But, it’s a classic. Back in the 90’s if you were called a bitch….that was grounds for female’s like myself taking off our earrings and a dude possibly getting the shit beat out of him. Now, my girls and I call each other bitch in an endearing way. Not sure about the rest of you but we do. I’m not saying it’s politically correct or you should call your spouse a bitch. It depends on your relationship and their sense of humor? But, this song commanded respect and we all had mad respect for Queen.

Alanis Morissette – You Oughta Know – Thoughts on this one? I can remember driving my red pontiac sunbird with the sunroof open on my way to the beach with my friend Sabrina and we heard it for the first time. Our conversation went something like this….”Say what? Did she just say that? Really? Turn it up girl!” Yep, Alanis had some anger issues.  Her lyrics were sick, twisted, resentful, and fucking scary and we all loved it didn’t we? But her smile….the hair….ALL OF IT. We wanted more! Bravo Alanis, Bravo! Thank you for being real and showing each of us it’s OK to be pissed off. Now when we feel demonic and want to scratch someone’s eyes out we can just blare this song instead of going to jail or hurting someone. We can sing along to release our hurt and disgust at the top of our fucking lungs and then move on can’t we? Well done girl, well done.

Fiona Apple – Criminal – Can we just talk about how Fiona made me feel when I heard this song? She made me feel wicked, carnal, sexual, and devilish. The beat was haunting and you couldn’t stop listening to it. Her voice was sizzling hot and whatever she was selling, we were buying. And look at those eyes will you? I have a feeling she made you feel exactly like me when you heard her sing.

That sums up Part II of the 90’s. Stop by next Sunday for Part III – I have a feeling the 90’s could possibly turn into four or five segments. I hope you’ll join me for more female artists editions. Have a fantastic Sunday loves. XOXO

6 comments

  1. sonofabeach96 · September 18

    Love Queen Latifah! She’s fantastic! 😃

    Like

  2. what sandra thinks · September 19

    Fiona Apple – That is one of my favorite songs ever. I definitely felt exactly as you described.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The V Pub · September 19

    I’d have to add Shirley Manson. Although she wasn’t solo, she was gritty and edgy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kimboxin · September 21

    Totally feeling Fiona! Can’t wait for more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

