1990’s Part 1 Female Artists/Hits

Lex Jones here, I am honored to be invited back to Lennon’s blog to write in her series about the lovely ladies of 1990’s music.  The nineties were a time of change.  We said goodbye to excesses of the 1980’s and began embracing the earthier side of life.  The Hair Metal bands that once ruled the charts were edged out by Grunge bands and the singer/songwriter types.  Music lyrics resembled those of the late 60’s and 70’s, questioning social injustice and tackling political issues.  With the birth of the internet, we became more informed and more aware of the world around us.

Women thrived in music in the 1990’s in each and every genre.  I would have to write a post the length of “War and Peace” to cover them all.  So in an effort to keep things moving, I am going to focus on my top 4.  I am going for the quirky, earthy, edgy and cool chicks as my picks.  So here goes:

Tori Amos:  Born the daughter of a Methodist minister, Tori was a young musical prodigy, studying at the Peabody Conservatory of Music at the age of five.  Her rebellious nature got her expelled by age 11, and she never looked back.  I was on the fence about her in the beginning.  I liked her.  She reminded me of Kate Bush.  And then she released her Under the Pink album and I was hooked.  I loved her song, “God” but “Cornflake Girl” remains my favorite.  (I never was a cornflake girl, either, Tori)

Sarah McLachlan:  Before the ASPCA commercials, we all knew Sarah as a singer/songwriting powerhouse who got fed up with the “boys club” and founded Lilith Fair.  Named after Adam’s first wife (in Jewish folklore), Lilith wanted to be seen as an equal to Adam, which caused discord and her eventual exit from Eden.  Sarah’s little festival featured some of the best female artists of all time.  I never had the opportunity to attend, but always wanted to go.  My favorite song is “Possession” on her Fumbling Towards Ecstasy album.  She wrote the song about her experience with a stalker.  She literally took words from his letters and put them into the lyrics.  He terrorized her for years and then had the nerve to try to sue her for plagiarism.  Can you imagine getting a letter from someone describing, “I’ll kiss you so hard, I’ll take your breath away…” Seriously scary shit.  But Sarah turned it around and made it into a hit.  YOU GO GIRL!

Joan Osborne:  She had one massive hit, although I enjoyed her entire album.  Her song, “One of Us” is still a favorite.  I loved her voice.  I related to the lyrics.  I had a girl-crush on Joan…with her long curly hair, sexy smile and that nose piercing.  She is still touring.  Still recording.  Still captivating.

Sheryl Crow:  I will admit, I HATED, “All I Wanna Do” and almost wrote Sheryl off completely.  But then I heard, “Leaving Las Vegas” and she was redeemed.  I loved the realness in her voice and enjoyed that she was also a musician.  My favorite Sheryl Crow songs are “Steve McQueen” “Home” with my all time fave being “If It Makes You Happy” I love the lyrics, “scrape the mold off the bread and serve you French toast again.”  She inspires me to live my life and make a better breakfast.

This just a sample of the ladies I loved in the 90’s.  Each one has a unique place in my fond memories of my life and times in the 1990’s…it was my heyday.  There are so many others I’d love to dish on, but time is fleeting.  Stay turned for Lennon’s second part of the 90’s next week!

 

18 comments

  1. sonofabeach96 · September 12

    I love Joan Osborne! She’s from my hometown, so I’ve heard her for years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · September 12

      Lex here. How cool that she’s from your hometown! My ex-husband met her coming off of her tour bus, before she did a small show in Greenwich Village and said she was really down to earth and nice.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sonofabeach96 · September 12

        That doesn’t surprise me. Most of us Kentuckians are that way. Wish she’d put some new stuff out. Love that raspy voice. 😃

        Liked by 2 people

  2. what sandra thinks · September 12

    Tori Amos is amazing. I saw her live and on the way out of the theater, she had “her people” out front giving every single person a flower as they exited. I’ve been to tons of shows, but this was a unique experience…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · September 13

      Lex here. Tori Amos is such an artist. I’ve never seen her live, but I saw a concert DVD where she did covers of “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and “Wild Horses”. Literally made the hair on my neck stand up. Such a talent!
      Thanks for the comments, Lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful · September 12

    Oh my!
    Some more catching up to do.
    Over to the net to see where the CDs are

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The V Pub · September 12

    Some great singers there. Looking back, one of the singers that I thought would be dominant was Mary J. Blige, but that didn’t really materialize.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Lady G · September 12

    Come on Lex! What was wrong with “All I wanna do” by Cheryl Crow? I rather liked that joint. LOL!
    No matter, you still my girl tho!

    What’s up Lennon?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · September 13

      Lex here, Lady G! I think they played that one way too much for me, it was just too poppy! I was in a reflective, brooding mood at that point in my life and the song just pissed me off! LOL. She’s out having fun while I’m trying to solve the world’s problems. Dammit, Sheryl…I wanna have fun too, but someone’s got to handle business. LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lady G · September 13

        LOL!!! That’s real talk right there! I can def. respect that😉

        Liked by 2 people

  6. kimboxin · September 15

    All I wanna Do by Sheryl didn’t piss me off, but “Soak up the Sun” did! I couldn’t escape that pop-garbage in the early 2000’s. Love her grittier stuff and now have a new appreciation for Sarah’s “Posession”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

