1970’s Female Artists/Hits

The 70’s were no doubt a daring fashion moment in history. From skin tight bell bottoms with flower patterns to showing your midriff with a halter top. The colors were vibrant and women were meant to be seen. Lip gloss was heavily applied and blue eye shadow was the new craze. Diana Ross showed us how to wear a tight sequence jumpsuit. The cars….well let’s just say, size mattered. The bigger, the better. My Mom drove a 1976 big ass mint green mercury cougar. She had the big hair to match it too. Now, onto the music….

1st Up: Blondie – One Way Or Another – Was she not gorgeous? That raspy voice got you every time didn’t it? Anything she sang I was ALL in. She was singing about stalking way before it was common, before Fatal Attraction, before Facebook and shit like that…. Ha!

2nd: Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive – Ahhh…Now this is what I’m talkin’ about. Gloria Gaynor set the world on fire with this hit. To this day it’s a powerful song. When you’re having the shittiest day or going through a horrific divorce or your heart is broken, blast this! I promise you, you’ll come back stronger than before.

3rd: Linda Ronstadt – You’re No Good – I mean all of us chic’s can relate to this song. Listen to her sweet voice belt out how he’s no good for her and she’s no good for him. Such a fantastic song and so much fun to sing along with the windows down.

4th: Dian Ross – Upside Down – Isn’t she spectacular? This is my favorite song of all of her hits. The beat just gets me moving. Pardon her pause in part of the song in this video..yep even the magnificent Diana Ross forgot her lyrics and probably got nervous performing. Just shows you she’s human like the rest of us. Check out how feminine and stunning she is.

That’s all for today. Stay tuned for next Sunday’s 80’s series. Can’t wait!

18 comments

  1. tessa tells all · August 14

    This was so spot-on! And FYI- Upside Down is my favorite Diana song too! On a side note, after a few beverages I have been known to belt out “You’re No Good” karaoke. I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Simon · August 14

    Greta choices Lennon, I love them all! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jonathan · August 14

    Union City Blue is still my favourite Blondie song – probably my favourite of that entire era. I didn’t realise that when Blondie first started, none of them could play an instrument or sing a note – they learned it all from scratch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · August 14

      Love that one too! Wow….I didn’t know they couldn’t play or sing when they first started 😂

      Like

  4. Meg Sorick · August 14

    Oh I love Blondie! Well actually I love all these ladies! Good choices, every one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 2loud2oldmusic · August 14

    Great choices and they are all very talented and powerful ladies.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just Joan · August 14

    You are the 80’s Queen, love all of these! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lady G · August 14

    My kinda post girl!
    Remind me to tell y’all about my barefooted lip synching episode at a gay bar. The song was “If I can’t have you” by Yvonne Eliman.
    Me and the queens turnt the place out!!!!
    YAAAASSSS!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · August 14

      You need to start that draft right now sister! OMG, hilarious!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Lady G · August 14

        LOL!! Let’s just say, at the end of the night we were all drunk at the bar with our arms around each other’s necks lip synching, “You picked a fine time to leave me Lucille!”
        Lennon, I promise that happened! Even I can’t make that shit up! LOL!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · August 14

        Sounds like my kinda partay!!!! 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lady G · August 14

        I know right? You and Tessa!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Woebegone but Hopeful · August 15

    Yep! That selection will do very nicely indeed!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

