A Love Like No Other

I don’t mean to bring everyone down on a Saturday morning but this is for me, selfish possibly but this is my journal sort of and I need to get it written now.

I came home yesterday to find my senior pup Cheesy hardly able to walk. His head was tilted and he’d had multiple accidents all over the bedroom and was really sick. I scooped him up and in the process pulled something in my back but called my husband and as soon as he got home we headed straight to the vet.

It was time to let Cheesy go. As I held him in my lap whispering “You’ve made us so happy. We love you the most. Go to sleep and we’ll see you on the other side” my heart was caving in and I couldn’t stop sobbing. Seventeen years he’d been by side. He’d seen me at my very worse and at my happiest. He loved me unconditionally and like no one has loved me before and I felt the same exact way about him. I took him everywhere with me…to the beach, shopping, work sometimes throughout the years. I have so many funny memories with him too. He was one in a million and I’ll miss him oh so much.

I do have peace with making that dreadful horrible decision knowing he’s not suffering or in anymore pain. He’s on the other side running, playing, rolling around in green grass, chasing other pups and humping (I hope). I also hope he’s spreading his fur love around to my Grandma, my Papa, Uncles and so on in heaven.

I post this in hopes that if you have a fur baby scoop them up (without pulling something in your back) and snuggle them right here and right now and tell them how much you love them. If you have children hug and love them hard. If you don’t have a pet or a child, I strongly suggest getting a pup or a cat or possibly having a child to share your love with. We all need something or someone to love don’t we?

God I miss him so much. I can’t stop crying. My eyes are so swollen it looks like I’ve been beat up. We didn’t get much sleep. I sobbed so loud my hubby had to sleep on the couch. My heart breaks and feels like it’s about to collapse.

Thank you for letting me vent and put this out there. Again, I’m sorry to post something so sad today but I needed to get my feelings out. I can only hope this will help me with the healing process.

Below is a picture of Cheesy celebrating his 17th birthday which was back in April. He had such a booming fun personality. RIP Mr. Colby Cheese, Cheesy, Cheeseburger, Mr. Cheese, you will be missed and we loved you the MOST.

cheesy17a

43 comments

  1. Jim · July 9, 2016

    I’m so sorry for you sweetie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. T. Wayne · July 9, 2016

    Such a loving post and tribute to your fur baby. I know you miss him terribly, but like you say, he’s not suffering and in pain anymore.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Wendy · July 9, 2016

    Ouch. Owwie! Crying here for you and your pup. Big hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tony Burgess · July 9, 2016

    Oh my friend I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a loved one who just happens to have four legs is never easy. Grace and peace to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jonathan · July 9, 2016

    Huge hugs 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sophia Ball · July 9, 2016

    To lose a pet is to lose a family member, and those of us with big hearts grieve as we would for a sister, a brother, a mother or father. A pet is a companion, a confidant, a friend. Don’t underestimate that grief, give it the space and respect it deserves.

    I recommend telling stories, sharing laughter, and remembering times of joy. It’s the best way we can honour those that are gone.

    My condolences for your loss. ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  7. The V Pub · July 9, 2016

    I’m sorry for your loss. They are part of our families and we grieve as such. Big hug to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Woebegone but Hopeful · July 9, 2016

    Many condolences to you Lennon I’m sure your pup had a lovely life with you.
    Yes he’ll be there in a land of sunny fields, soft cushions, water to splash in and he’ll meet up with a guy called Soxx, a border collie who went on ahead a few days earlier (whose Mum is an internet friend of my wife’s)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 10, 2016

      Awe….this made me smile. Thank you Roger. You always know exactly what to say to brighten my mood.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Woebegone but Hopeful · July 10, 2016

        Glad to be of help Lennon. My wife sends her condolences too (she’d love to have a dog, but at present for all sorts of reasons we can’t)

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Carisa Adrienne · July 9, 2016

    Oh Lennon I’m so sorry. Pure love. Pure love. ❤️💔

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Meg Sorick · July 9, 2016

    Oh Lennon, I’m so sorry! I’m tearing up on your behalf. We are dog parents, too. My boy is ten and I dread the day when I have to face what you just went through. Huge hugs, my darling girl. <3<3<3

    Liked by 1 person

  11. spineandspirit · July 9, 2016

    RIP Cheesy 😦 I am a fur mommy so I also know what you are going through. My heart breaks for you. One day you will meet again. Sending you hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. socialbridge · July 9, 2016

    Oh Lennon, I’m so, so sorry and am here in Ireland sobbing with you as I write.
    It’s not easy to say goodbye to dogs who have given us everything and I can just imagine that your little pet is praying that you’re okay.
    Puppy Stan ( who came to me less than 2 weeks after I had to have my precious Sophie put down) sends you one of his empathetic cuddly hugs.
    Never apologise for been you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 9, 2016

      Thank you Jean & Puppy Stan. I can only imagine what great hugs he gives and I appreciate it oh so much. Don’t cry….He’s not suffering. 💕 Thank you Sweetie

      Liked by 1 person

      • socialbridge · July 10, 2016

        Not suffering is so, so important.
        Smiling rays of Irish hope and comfort your way. J&S.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. sonofabeach96 · July 9, 2016

    I’ve had dogs all of my life, but have only had to put one down. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I feel for y’all. Believe me, our thoughts are with you. 😔

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Lady G · July 10, 2016

    Dogs are such loyal friends. They really are family. My condolences to you my sweet. 😢

    Liked by 1 person

  15. K E Garland · July 10, 2016

    Awww man! My deepest condolences are with you! I know how hard this is and I hope each day is a little better for you. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  16. kimboxin · July 10, 2016

    Oh Lennon, no apologies are necessary. I’m so, so sorry for your loss, and my heart goes out to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Just Joan · July 10, 2016

    So sorry, Lennon. I’m sure your baby was The Cheesiest and nothing can ever replace him or fix the hole he left in your heart. Bravo for getting your feelings down in a post–it took me TWO YEARS! If reading Earnie’s story would make you feel not so alone, here’s the link: https://justjoan42.wordpress.com/2016/01/17/earnest-and-true-to-the-end/

    Liked by 1 person

  18. grandfathersky · July 13, 2016

    Have you ever read “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein? Anyone who knows a dogs soul should read it, such a powerful and endearing story. Not so much about cars and drivers as it is about a dogs love …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

