Nose Job

I adore my crazy, hilarious Aunt. You might remember me writing about her before. If not, here’s the post so you can get familiar with our relationship. No worries, it’s short and sweet…

https://fabulouswithglitches.wordpress.com/2016/03/25/cake-by-the-ocean/

So as you can see we have a fun, open and honest relationship. We pretty much tell each other everything. We e-mail or text daily. She’s definitely more like a big sister than an Aunt.

She texts me last night…

“Will you take some close up pictures of your nose for me? I want to get a nose job. I want mine to look just like yours.”

Most people would be flattered someone would want a nose just like theirs. Me? Not so much. I respond…

“What the fuck? Are you drunk? Why do you want a nose job? Your nose is great. Seriously, What the fuck?”

“I hate my nose. It’s awful. It’s too wide and the tip of it is too low. I have a deviated septum and the doctor said he could give me a nose job when he goes in to fix the septum.”

“Are you fucking kidding me? He’s just telling you that so that you’ll spend more money. You’re smarter than this! You DO NOT NEED A NOSE JOB.”

“Take the pictures. You love me right? Take the damn pictures.”

Of course I take a couple of pictures and send them to her…

“You could’ve at least smiled.”

“Nope, because why would I put on a fake smile when I’m sad that you want to change your beautiful face? Why would you want to be cut on? You’re beautiful already. God made us this way, why change it? I don’t get it.”

She goes on to tell me she’s not happy with her looks and she knows it will make her feel better. She feels insecure about it and wants it fixed.

I get it. You’re not happy with something on your body but why can’t we just accept ourselves the way we are? Shit, I don’t even believe in botox. I’m not perfect by all means. I have sun spots, a double chin, all kinds of things wrong with me but I wouldn’t change it for the world. This is me, if you don’t like the way I look then look the other fucking way. I am so upset that she is that insecure to have her face changed. Of course I want her to be happy and to love herself and if it makes her feel better then I guess I just have to accept it. But, often people go in for these things and have complications or it doesn’t look the way they thought it would. It just makes me very nervous.

Anyone want to share their experience with this type of thing? Have any of you had plastic surgery? Am I the only one that feels this way?

Don’t get me wrong…..if I were in a car accident and my face was cut or I was burned I would want something done probably. If I had breast cancer and had a mastectomy I would want my tits fixed. I get that…I really do. But, if nothing’s wrong, why put yourself through this to match what society thinks you should look like? I just think we get so consumed in our looks that we forget who we are or don’t appreciate ourselves. It makes me so sad.

Thoughts? I’d love to hear them.

 

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. Jim · June 5, 2016

    I haven’t had plastic surgery but I have had skin cancer removed from my nose. basal cell carcinoma. it hurt like hell when the nurse stuck that needle in my nose to numb it up. good thing she was mighty fine to look at. too bad she had one of them husbands tho. anywho, I’m still self conscious about the scarring.

    let’s see her pic so we would know. a boob shot works too but she probably has one of them husbands too and he would more than likely frown on that. husbands are so not understanding of us wanting to help.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jonathan · June 6, 2016

    My cousin (who was beautiful to start with) had her boobs done. To begin with she looked like a bit of a barbie doll, but I think we’ve kind of gotten used to it now. She did it purely because of self image issues.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · June 6, 2016

      I’ve had a lot of girlfriends that have had implants. One got a really bad infection as it leaked. Talk about a nightmare

      Like

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful · June 6, 2016

    We are who we are.
    I can understand corrective work after severe accidents, surgery or maybe to rectifying birth defects which are incapacitating. That makes perfect sense, and its good to know it is there for those in need
    But this work to make people look perfect…sounds like people making money out of other people’s fears.
    (Anyway the idea brings out the worst side of my sense of humour; like noses that spontaneously inflate or fall off; ears which spin at 360 degrees for no reason or someone sneezing during a Botox job and gets stuck like that)
    That said I hope everything works out for your Aunt, whichever way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. K E Garland · June 7, 2016

    I am willing to bet money that she’s not going to feel better afterwards.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Deb · June 10, 2016

    It is a shame the pressure society can put on us if we let them. Tell her God made each one of us individually and does she really want to tamper with His creation? I was wondering how your friend Ronnie made out, was she able to get the Zomig, and if so did it help her? She’s been on my mind constantly, I hope she’s doing ok. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · June 10, 2016

      Hi Deb! Rhonnie has been suffering for over 12 years with her issue. She sees many different doctors. I sent her your message but she told me she has over 250 e-mails to read. LOL I know she’s tried just about everything that’s for sure. She might even already be on the Zomig. Just not sure. Thank you so much for thinking of her and praying for her. She’s a good week so far. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deb · June 10, 2016

        Thanks for the update. I suffered from them for 35 years so I understand her pain. The good news for me is since I’ve started menopause they have significantly improved. 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

