Everyone Has A Story

image

We often pre-judge don’t we? We stereo type and immediately jump to conclusions. I hate that about myself. I’m a work in progress. I catch myself doing it and instantly feel guilty.

Everyone does have a story. We have sequels….some are slow moving and don’t catch our attention. But the next one is keeping us on the edge or makes our minds work overtime trying to understand the twists. A few sequels are shameful and we can’t believe what the character just did. How could they?

Sometimes people go through storms, hurricanes, torrential downpours and accidents happen. There’s wreckage afterwards and a lot of clean up afterwards. Some people don’t have the Disaster Relief Agencies to come to their rescue.

I think it’s safe to say we’ve all had some shit storms in life right? Did you have someone there for you to just listen?

When my friends and family tell me their problems I right away start analyzing ways to help them out of their situation. Maybe they don’t need me to fix it for them or to come up with ideas on how to address the problem. Can’t I just shut up and listen and allow them to vent? Of course I can.

I need to heed to my own advice. I write this blog mostly talking to myself. If you read this and get something from it that’s fantastic. But I use this blog as a journal/diary too because I do go back and read my stuff from time to time. It helps me to remind myself of the right things to do and I can learn from my writing this way.

In this case….I need to listen always before judging. I have no clue of the dues that someone has paid nor have I seen their receipts. I need to remember they have stories just like me.

So let’s fill our lives with our stories…whether they’re scary, sad, adventurous, thrilling, loving, or happy let’s make it the craziest finale ever.

12 comments

  1. Tony Burgess · May 30

    It’s easier to give advice than to take it for ourselves. Some folks are sponges for the problems of others too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Just Joan · May 30

    Always, listening is the best thing you can do. That’s all most people want anyway. Nice post, Lennon. Good luck on your journey. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So very true, and we all do it; someone inadvertently hits one of our ‘Defcon’ buttons and away we go 0 to 90 in 5 seconds!!
    Fill our lives with stories…. Now that’s a wonderful notion.
    Best wishes
    Roger

    Liked by 1 person

  4. what sandra thinks · May 30

    I need a Disaster Relief Agency! And someone to listen… and maybe even give real advice and suggestions rather than spitting some tired cliche at me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · May 30

      You and those cliche’s 😂 Hopefully you don’t want to punch me in the face when I use some of my fav’s

      Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · May 30

        No no. I say that but have never (and I’m sure would never) actually do it. Unless it comes from someone I already want to punch. Not that I have any idea how to throw a good punch. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · May 30

        I bet you could throw down if you needed to. I’d bet money on you winning LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · May 30

        Well, if it’s a guy, there’s always kicking. I wouldn’t want to injure my typing hands… 😀

        Like

  5. kimboxin · May 31

    I’m so guilty of pre-judging. Thank goodness I’m wrong A Lot! It’s a nasty little habit, but I’m trying to work on it. Thanks for the reminder. 😍

    Like

  6. Jonathan · May 31

    Whenever I think about this kind of stuff, I remember “The Celestine Prophecy” – an awful book from the mid 1990s that was saved by having a few nice ideas in it about energy transfer between people. If you get the chance, go read it… it’s interesting (although also awful lol).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · May 31

      Ha! I might check it out. I’m reading 3 books right now….I might suffer from ADD because I get bored so quickly. I’m constantly jumping around reading multiple things….it annoys me but also stimulates my brain. Go figure :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

