It’s Necessary

We get so consumed with work, school, problems, others needing us that we dismiss the fact that we need time to ourselves. We need to make that doctor’s appointment for ourselves, hair appointment or lunch with a friend and stop canceling.

I have a selfish side. For instance this week it seemed like I had to bail several people at work out of their predicaments. It’s always me that has to fix their mistakes. That’s not in my job responsibilities. I feel taken for granted. But I’m also a team player. I wear a headset for nine hours a day and the phone calls are non stop. I share an office with five other people. It’s always loud and insanely fast moving.

I come home and fix dinner. Clean up after the 17 year old Mr. Cheese. He’s my mixed pup and has some health issues which cause him to urinate quite a bit in my home. There’s laundry….hubby wants to tell me all about his day and for me to watch TV with him. It’s bed time and every couple of hours Mr. Cheese walks all over my body to wake me up out of my slumber, drooling on my pillow state to take him outside for his business meeting. Or he doesn’t wake me and I find puddles around the bed to clean up before I get ready for work.

I feel as if everyone wants a piece of me 24/7. There is no quietness in my life. It would be nice to hear nothing….silence. I do sometimes in my car. Today I’m taking time for myself at Starbucks. it’s far from quiet but no one is asking me for anything. No one knows me here. I’m alone and taking in every second of this me time. I’m able to blog out my feelings and vent. A huge sigh of relief…..enjoying my Venti White Mocha. After I’m done here I have a much needed hair appointment. It’s been three months since my last haircut and highlights. I’m not complaining….I’m extremely grateful for this life I live. I have more than so many and that I’m truly thankful for.

I’m just advising you to take some time for yourself to sit back and take things in. If I do things like this more often I’ll be less stressed out and not so overwhelmed. Those of you with children, jobs, ahem… multiple jobs….I bow down to you. I don’t see how you do it all. I honestly don’t. Give yourself a hug for me because you deserve it. Remember to take care of you too loves. Because you’re taking care of everyone else and they need you to be happy too.

You deserve ME time. Make yourself a priority…It’s necessary….

image

14 comments

  1. Dr Meg Sorick · May 21, 2016

    Excellent reminder, Lennon! We all have to recharge our batteries regularly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. what sandra thinks · May 21, 2016

    I am sitting in a chair at thebsalon right now waiting for my highlights to “cook”… ☺ Unfortunately, I can’t have the whole day… have to take my daughter to a party this afternoon… I really hate going to kids’ parties. (What a nice mom I am…Hahaha!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woebegone but Hopeful · May 21, 2016

    Makes a great deal of sense, otherwise pressure builds up, person goes kerr-bang…,and always in the wrong place, at the wrong time, and at the on who least deserves it (and afterwards you feel like something that’s been blocking the drains).
    Time out is vital
    (And I personally recommend Reality in moderate doses)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Simon · May 21, 2016

    Totally with you here my friend, we need three or four of us to keep everyone happy. Hope you’re having a good day hun xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · May 21, 2016

      It’s been a great day. Thank you Si! I’ve missed you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Simon · May 21, 2016

        What have you been up to? Miss you too my gorgeous, I sent you an email earlier. I’m always about for you! πŸ˜ƒ

        Like

  5. Pingback: Dragon’s Loyalty Award – seekthebestblog
  6. threehandedgirl03 · May 24, 2016

    SO true! I’m going to kick back and have some me-time tonight πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

