Monday – Watch Out

Who’s ready to hustle tomorrow? I know I am. Bring it…

Some of the man babies at work got under my skin on Friday. Two of them (my bosses) actually had the nerve to tell me to e-mail a client that a $7,000 control motor wouldn’t be covered under warranty. This client has only had the equipment three months if that. I knew it would be covered under warranty and I told the man babies this but they thought they knew it all and I was just a dumb girl that doesn’t know jack shit about anything.

I start drafting the e-mail to the client and as they both stand over me to make sure that I do it. They continue to talk in their limp dick language about how they know the guidelines for parts warranties and so on. Finally they take a breath from their conversation and I hear silence. Sweet silence. I took that opportunity to read my e-mail out loud….

 Hi Gordon,

I’ve been elected to give you some bad news.  You see, my service manager and the CEO have come to the conclusion that although Unit # 1127 is only three months old and has less than 2,000 hours on it, the control motor will not be covered under warranty. Never mind that you paid over $60,000 for that piece of equipment and you have another one on order and might possibly need two more by the end of the year. We hope that you’ll understand that these motors are not part of the warranty agreement. I offered to contact the manufacturer myself but they both agreed there was no need and feel very confident in their knowledge that this is not covered.

I’ll need you to e-mail me the PO# for this control motor so that I can order it for you and get your unit back up and running again. My apologies that this is not covered. 

I could hear grunting and clearing of man baby throats as I was typing and reading it out loud. Finally a voice cracked and said “Wait! Don’t press send!  Let me go on line and check the warranty agreement.” Me: “I’ve already checked it and printed it out. I told you this is covered under warranty. What is wrong with you two? I had to read my e-mail out loud for you both to get it!?”

#1) I was livid that they made me type an e-mail to tell this client the bad news which was wrong news to begin with. Know what that means? I look like the dumb ass telling him it’s not covered under warranty. #2) They could’ve lost the sell if I hadn’t read that out loud to them. I honestly believe if I would’ve hit send this client would’ve told all of us to go fuck ourselves and to come get that piece of equipment the next damn day. I know I would have.

I bet they never make the mistake of me typing another e-mail for them dropping incorrect information or bad news again. Did you notice how I mentioned the both of them in the e-mail? I immediately identified who told me to send the e-mail. That’s right mother fuckers, I’m not taking the blame for this fucking fiasco.

I’m sure all of us are working with some real idiots. It’s difficult to plow through the day pretending to not notice how fucking stupid people are. But, let’s remember we’re there to collect a paycheck. What’s the saying? Service with a smile. We can throat punch them 850 times in our minds but let’s not physically do it right loves?

This song came to mind on Friday.

Gwen nailed it sarcastically didn’t she?

So, I thought I’d give you some encouraging quotes for Monday’s Trying Moments….

7f4d3b0076380f29653ede5e7dac83e6

4a31867b45a594adcbb073fc18e5bcc1

f908e6dad6ed127f9a18e50f623ce03d

So go punch Monday in the face loves! Hustle hard and don’t put up with any bullshit 🙂

XOXO

14 comments

  1. sonofabeach96 · April 24, 2016

    You’re so awesome! You crack me up. We have a good friend whom you remind me of a great deal! That’s a good thing, by the way. Stay cool! You rock. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 24, 2016

      Oh how I’d love to meet your friend!!! Thank you. I can be quite a pain in the ass at times 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • sonofabeach96 · April 25, 2016

        So can she, but she’s fantastic. You never not know exactly where you stand, she’s quick with a “fuck that!”, and has a low tolerance for bullshit! She’s awesome. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dr Meg Sorick · April 24, 2016

    Way to stick up for your customers! What a pair of jackasses those guys are. You do rock! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 24, 2016

      I honestly don’t think I rock. My anger issues are a constant work in progress. Thank goodness I have this blog to pour out my issues 😂 Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dr Meg Sorick · April 24, 2016

        This falls under the category of righteous indignation! And having issues? Doesn’t prevent you from rocking! 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  3. T. Wayne · April 25, 2016

    I can always count on you to get me fired up for Monday. Of course, I’ll have to read it again tomorrow morning to get the full effect all over again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 25, 2016

      Thanks T. Wayne! I’m going to have to read it again too. It’s 5:22 am here and I’m not feeling as fired up as I was last night when I wrote it. LOL

      Like

  4. Wendy · April 25, 2016

    You go GIRL! Leadership isn’t driving people to do stupid business practices. You were the leader for your company.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Woebegone but Hopeful · April 25, 2016

    Nice!……… I’d have valued you on my team when I was a junior manager in the British equivalent of the IRS (we had this cool unwritten code; you can ignore the rule book(s) as long as you don’t get caught)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 25, 2016

      Sounds like I would’ve fit in perfectly 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Woebegone but Hopeful · April 26, 2016

        You’d have been in my first line of defence against smartly dressed, cliché-newspeak-talking clones from Head Office ( or worse.. ‘a consultancy’) who would tell us what we were doing wrong even if they had no practical experience of what we were doing anyhows and irrespective of if we were doing it right in the first place.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Simon · May 5, 2016

    You rick girl! Totally! 😃😃😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

