Keep That

When I say “Keep That” I don’t mean hoarding or keeping that first bottle cap from the first date you had with what’s his face from 10th grade. I don’t mean keeping that memorabilia from the NKOTB tour.

I’m talking about those mistakes you’ve made, lessons you’ve learned, wrinkles you’ve acquired, the scars from playing football or falling off your bike.

Ladies, you know that wrinkle right above the two corners of your mouth that show up when you smile? Or that one breast that’s smaller than the other one? What about the mole on your cheek that you stare at every morning?

Fellas, what about the hair or fur on your back that looks like a sweater? Or that one toe that sticks out further than your big toe and looks strange? How about that one tooth that is sort of pointy compared to the rest of your teeth?

Are you possibly in a wheel chair or disabled? Do you have a lazy eye or a lisp? Who cares? Keep that. It’s what makes you YOU. Who cares what people think? I think if all of us had more confidence the world would be so much better. It’s time for each of us to be satisfied and certain of who we are.

We need to stop doubting our worth. We need to be secure about who we are. News Flash: No one is perfect people. Do you compare yourself to other people? Like for instance, the latest hype is the Kardashian’s for some reason. Yeah, they’re gorgeous, confident, beautiful, sexy and so much more. But, have you noticed, all of them have had work done to themselves to look that way. See where I’m going with this? Yep, they are insecure too. They weren’t happy with themselves so they got botox, lip injections, implants and the list goes on.

Underneath all of us there’s some type of insecurity even in the most beautiful people in the world. Why can’t we just accept ourselves for who we REALLY are? It’s time to let go of our imperfections and take what we want out of life.

What if we all thought of ourselves as epic, not basic? We’ve paid our dues in life so why not stop hesitating and go after what we want. I often think we hold ourselves back because of our faults and think we’re not good enough. I can’t be the only one that thinks this way can I? Yes, you know me as being confident, full of myself, sassy, speaking up for what I believe in, even arrogant at times. Deep down I have my insecurities too.

What are my insecurities? I didn’t go to college. I just graduated high school. At times I let that hold me back because I don’t necessarily feel that I’m smart around college educated people. But, that doesn’t make me any less of a person either. I’m street smart and I have amazing skills. I make very good money and have a successful career. I’m not toned up, thin, or even in shape. I’m curvy and like to eat. So, at times when I’m at the beach in my bathing suit I feel fluffy. But then I think to myself, I’m fluffy but cute and I’m happy. We have to reel ourselves back in at times and remind ourselves how fabulous we are don’t we? I hopeΒ  you do that with yourself. You do, don’t you? Try your best not to put yourself down. Bring yourself up with the positives when you start doubting yourself OK?

Whether we were put down growing up by our parents or bullied or if we talk down to ourselves in our minds we can overcome that bullshit. Learn to love yourself.

We all need to own our worth don’t we? We are worthy, all of us. We need to make people remember each of us whether they want to or not. Not everyone has to like us, not everyone has taste do they?

We’re all beautiful in our own fucked up ways if you ask me. There’s beauty in everything and everyone if you look around. No one is you, that’s your power and that’sΒ  your beauty.

I have so many favorite songs but this one always speaks to me. It’s so powerful and I think if we would all listen to this from time to time it would help us to realize our worth. If you don’t have it on your spotify, google play list or whatever, add it, you need to hear it. Treasure yourself loves. If you don’t, how can anyone else treasure you?

Whatever you think is wrong with you, It’s OK. Keep That.

 

23 comments

  1. sonofabeach96 · April 17, 2016

    Right on! πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘

    Liked by 2 people

  2. socialbridge · April 17, 2016

    Well said, Lennon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. balletandboxing · April 17, 2016

    While I definitely agree, I’d like to point out that the NKOTB are most certainly perfect and all their memorabilia should be carefully preserved.

    #notabelieber

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth Helmich · April 17, 2016

    I’ll give a Hallelujah to that!!! Hell yeah.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Simon · April 17, 2016

    Hi ya – well said. I know you’re fabulous my friend – I hope you know that. Curves and all! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. T. Wayne · April 17, 2016

    All of that. Can’t be said enough times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 17, 2016

      I think we all need encouraging at times. I know I do. By the way I think you’re incredible. Your knowledge of music blows me away.

      Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne · April 17, 2016

        We all do, Lennon. Thanks! I told myself that this year I wouldn’t talk down my good qualities, or ability, or “talent”, if you will. I did it for so long, it became like the default setting. That’s why what you just posted spoke to me so.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. K E Garland · April 17, 2016

    You’re amazing luv! Thanks for this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. what sandra thinks · April 17, 2016

    This is no doubt a very positive and inspiring post, but… a couple things. First, this: “Learn to love yourself” thing. I have heard this pretty much my whole life. It’s always said as though someone is telling me to go learn how to bake a cake. But for this, there is no recipe, there are no instructions. So I honestly don’t understand how this can be accomplished. If it’s hidden in a cookbook or the IKEA assembly instructions, please let me know.

    Second, the whole ‘love yourself or no one else will’ thing… (though you use treasure which I think is much more lovely)… but this whole concept is a cliche that I do not buy at all. I would not say I hate myself…. I love certain things about me for sure. But do I “love myself” in general? I’d have to say that my honest answer is no. However, plenty of others have loved and treasured me despite this apparently gigantic flaw in me. Apparently others CAN and DO love and treasure me even if I don’t. But…

    How can I accept myself, hold onto my flaws and claim them as my own, be happy with my little quirks and eccentricities and imperfections… how can I accept all of that if I’m constantly hearing how unacceptable and unlovable I am if I don’t love myself? It’s a complete contradiction. And these two things always seem to go hand-in-hand: accept yourself and all your flaws because you are special just the way you are….. BUT you must love yourself or no one else will. So how the F can I accept myself just the way I am if I must change something to be worthy??

    I am a grown woman and this has confused the fuck out of me my entire life. Obviously if there is something I MUST change to be loved, then I am not already wonderful just as I am. It’s like… you don’t have to change. But you have to change. Gah!!

    Sorry for the HUGE comment… and I hope I didn’t come off as a total bitch… I adore your posts and think you’re quite amazing and inspiring (and I still think you look like Penny from Big Bang). I just seriously wish I could understand this utter contradiction… or someone would tell me exactly how I’m supposed to “fix it”. I’m pretty sure there’s no kit at Home Depot.

    Like

    • Lennon Carlyle · April 18, 2016

      Of course I don’t think you’re a bitch. This comment to me is what makes you genuine. Your honesty and bluntness is admirable. I see your point on the contradicting & cliche of my post. I really do. But it’s the way I feel. It took me years to accept who I was after being talked down to so much. When I did begin to love myself that’s when I gained my attitude of “you don’t like me or what I have to offer, Fuck you because I love me”. I knew I wouldn’t change myself for anyone. This is something personal for me. Just wanted to share my thoughts. You are fucking incredible Sandra. Hope you know that πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · April 18, 2016

        I do understand that we always write from our experience, our personal thoughts. I have such respect for that. It’s something I love about you and your posts. I just think sometimes I reach my breaking point with that one phrase… I don’t believe it and even if I did, that first part has been impossible for me to accomplish my whole life! I’d love to change how pathetically insecure I am. If only I had a fucking clue how to accomplish that! And thank you for being so nice to me. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · April 18, 2016

        Oh but Honey you are beautiful. No I’ve not seen you but I feel I know you. What I do see in your writing and comments is an exquisite intriguing beauty. Whether you think it or not you can’t control what we think. So there 😘 Hugs Sweetness!

        Liked by 1 person

      • what sandra thinks · April 18, 2016

        You are amazing. Honestly, you made my night. I have had a crappy week but you made me smile… and laugh a little. And there may have even been a tear but I admit nothing. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · April 18, 2016

        I love making people smile. Although I think you could make yourself smile too sometimes. Just look at yourself in the mirror and tell yourself “I’ve got mad swag!” Guarantee you’ll smile and even laugh. I know I laugh at myself all the time. Now, go get what you want today, Yep, it’s Monday but go get it! Hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Just Joan · April 18, 2016

    Thanks Lennon, I’ll reread this next time I’m feeling a little insecure πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

