What Do You Do?

Hey Loves,

It’s Sunday and I’m basically doing not much of anything. While I sit here preparing blogs for the week and getting my mindset for Monday I can’t help but wonder…what do all of you do for a living? How do you earn your paycheck? Maybe you’re a housewife – hardest job ever! Stay at home Dad? Possibly retired? If you’re retired what did you do? If you don’t work, what would you like to do for a living? If you’re on disability, what is your disability? School me on your lives will you?

What do I do? I sell industrial parts for forklifts, sweepers, utility carts, and scissor lifts. I purchase all of the parts for our company, keep the inventory discrepancies low, quote parts, invoice the clients for the parts. I also go out to call on customer’s from time to time or to “fix” their issues. I also help out the other departments with our software and training new people.

Tell me what fills your days?  🙂

 

 

33 comments

  1. Jonathan · March 20, 2016

    I’m a “professional” software and web developer for a Microsoft partner. I get to consult on, design, and build all the systems in big companies the staff have to use, and then complain about. I also teach business people how to do clever stuff with their computers quite often – running all over the country doing it, which leads to endless posts from far-flung hotels.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 20, 2016

      A very interesting career. I’d love the traveling part 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jonathan · March 20, 2016

        It’s never as exciting as you might think – there was a lot of truth in the movie “Up in the Air” – the George Clooney movie.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tony Burgess · March 20, 2016

    I work for a blood bank as a telerecruiting team leader. I manage a 12-15 people who call to make appointments for blood donations. We are partly responsible for bringing donors into our facilities. I enjoy the work and feel a sense of purpose in saving lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. T. Wayne · March 20, 2016

    I work for a County government here in Maryland. Generally I maintain the database for real property taxes, handle billings, adjustments, and reporting to state government and the counties’ incorporated towns. Of course, when the bills come out some folks grumble, but most don’t mind making their contribution to keep our County services going.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 20, 2016

      Awesome! It sounds like it’s very fulfilling. Bet the benefits are good. They always say the government jobs have great benefits. I hope so in your case!

      Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne · March 20, 2016

        Thanks, Lennon. The benefits are great. In certain years, they allow us to travel also. Some of us are going to Phoenix for a software conference.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · March 20, 2016

        Now I’m really jealous. I need a job that requires me to travel. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • T. Wayne · March 20, 2016

        Aww. Now I feel bad… but we don’t get to go every year. What with government budgets, one years good revenues could be another year’s cuts.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Dr Meg Sorick · March 20, 2016

    I am a chiropractor in a small solo home office. I gave up working as an associate in a busy practice after 19 years. Now, the slower pace gives me time to write! 😃

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 20, 2016

      Helping & Healing! I love it! Of course I love your writing too. My hubby just started going to a chiropractor a couple of weeks ago actually. I hope it helps him soon. He’s been in some pain for a month now. Hugs Girly!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sonofabeach96 · March 20, 2016

    I’m an Occupational Therapist in a sub-acute rehab facility, by day. When 4:00pm hits, though, I run Dad’s Taxi Service. It doesn’t pay much…well, money-wise that is, but it’s the best job I’ve ever had. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 20, 2016

      Man I love your energy! You love being a Dad Taxi, that’s awesome. I just read your post about Sat. night. Um, your wife is amazing! I wish we lived closer because we could double date. I surprised my hubby with an early Christmas gift last year. Tickets to see the Impractical Jokers. He loved it. An Occupational Therapist, you’re a giver/fixer for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

      • sonofabeach96 · March 20, 2016

        Love Impractical Jokers! It’s hilarious. We do try to surprise each other, but she’s hard to top sometimes. Never ceases to amaze me. 🙂
        And the Dad taxi? It’s fatiguing, and far from glamorous or exciting, but I’m with them, so I see it as a gift. Pretty soon, they won’t want to be seen with me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A Pondering Mind · March 21, 2016

    Five years ago, I took early retirement, so now I spend some of my time posting random, sometimes stupid shit.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. bensbitterblog · March 21, 2016

    I work in customer service and admin which is a really bad match because I’m bitter and can’t stand talking to people on the phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 21, 2016

      Me too. I wear a headset all damn day talking to people. Then my friends wonder why I don’t call them back or want to talk to them on the phone. :/

      Like

      • bensbitterblog · March 21, 2016

        The phone has been my nemesis all my life. I curse the day that Alexander Graham Bell invented these things. On the other hand, smart phones are cool because you actually don’t have to use the phone part of it.

        Liked by 2 people

  8. liverpoolmunky76 · March 21, 2016

    I work in an office, sorting out wage queries, employer/employee problems and Tax Office problems for an accountancy firm, this pays the bills. At night and on weekends I am a dad to a young son and that’s where my job satisfaction is. I am also an annoying husband and unrepentant geek.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wendy · March 21, 2016

    I’ve been in the mortgage industry since 1991. When I lost my job last year I thought I’d take some time off to explore. My husband and I started bee keeping, and now I’m looking for my re-entry point in the job market. I’m not a good stay at home wife…..I need structure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 21, 2016

      I wouldn’t be a good one either. I used to be in the mortgage biz too until the bottom fell out back in 2007.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Just Joan · March 23, 2016

    I’m a retired nurse-turned-writer. I worked in an office for 16 years, calling patients with results of their medical tests and answering their questions. Triaging their complaints, then making make them an appointment or sending them to the ER. Or filling out the mountain of paperwork required by insurance for medical equipment. Or writing letters for the docs to sign–to get patients out of jury duty or paying electric bills, or to allow them to have a “companion animal” in a pet-free building or have their mail delivered right to their door or whatever. So the transition to writing was not too difficult. I do humor and poetry mostly, and have a blog here on WordPress.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · March 23, 2016

      Well, you had a lot of responsibilities at that last job you had. Wowza! That’s fantastic that you’re a writer now! Living the dream obviously. I’m going to stop by and check out your blog right now 😀

      Like

      • Just Joan · March 23, 2016

        Funny you should say that… I did a post last November, one year into retirement: https://justjoan42.wordpress.com/2015/11/29/living-the-dream/

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · March 23, 2016

        I’m loving your style Joan. I feel a connection with you. I’m married with a dog. No children as well. I often have big intentions of doing so much on a day off and it doesn’t quite happen LOL I also cannot sleep late for the life of me. Love to read and just in the last 6 months have found myself through writing. I’m ALL in Joan, loving your blog. In fact, love it so much, just reblogged – One thing we won’t have in common, I swear a lot. Yikes, but if you follow me, just drive over those words like a speed bump eh? Have a great evening!

        Like

Leave a Reply

