Sundowning Dementia

057

Another sleepless night in our home……

Our adorable mutt Mr. Colby Cheese will be 17 years old in April. He’s a mix of jack russell, poodle, and schnauzer. We believe he suffers from Sundowning Dementia – This consists of whining, moaning, licking, pacing, disorientation all at night. When the sun goes down our pup turns into a completely different dog. During the day, he’s playful, naps occasionally. When I come home from work he runs around in circles smiling and excited to go for his evening walk.

He is also suffering with renal failure but we’re managing that pretty well by having plenty of water for him and it’s stabilized with the right food which is Purina Pro Plan NF Kidney Function Formula which he absolutely loves.

The Sundowning is miserable not only for him but for us. The whining and moaning is so sad. He doesn’t seem to be in any pain but is scared and confused. This has been going on for over a month. I pretty cried myself to sleep last night because I feel helpless as I don’t know what to do to help him. I’ve researched on line and there are a few things we can try. I’ve copied and pasted the run down below from the website http://thebark.com/ which is fantastic. I tried to copy the link to the article that I found this at but it won’t work for some reason here on WP. Ahhhh, I’m so technically challenged.

Anyway, I called the Vet and they’ve never heard of any of this but I wanted to share it with you in case it could help you or your pet. I wouldn’t want anyone to experience this. I feel like we’re in hospice right now with our pup and watching this happen. All we can do is try these suggestions listed below and continue to make him as comfortable as we can. One day soon I’ll blog about how I discovered Colby Cheese and how we met 🙂 For now, just wanted to pass along this information and to have a bit of release in blogging about it. Maybe it will be good for my mind and emotions.

 

 

 

16 comments

  1. The V-Pub · February 11, 2016

    Does holding him help in any way? I hope this is temporary, Lennon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · February 11, 2016

      Unfortunately not….I hold him and he’s whining and restless. He wants to pace. We’re going to try the holistic approach on line. Hopefully it will work. Thanks Rob!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy · February 11, 2016

    Oh sweet dog. That’s so sad. I hope the holistic gives him (and you) some relief.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. socialbridge · February 11, 2016

    Lennon, this tugs at my heartstrings as a dog lover and having been the distance with my late father who had dementia.
    I hope you find a way to improve his quality of life and , hard as this may sound, that you can draw comfort from knowing that you can release him if the situation gets too mu ch for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · February 11, 2016

      Thank you Jean for your heartfelt words & encouragement 💙

      Like

      • socialbridge · February 11, 2016

        Oh you’re welcome. I just wish there were magic wands!

        Like

  4. Haylee · February 11, 2016

    Poor pooch 😦 I’ve only just heard of sundowning in humans, wasn’t aware it could also affect animals. Hope your suggested treatments make a difference and thanks for making people aware.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. K E Garland · February 11, 2016

    Aw man! I’m sorry to hear Lennon but I completely understand. My toy poodle is ten and is now 95% blind. He’s also had some food sensitivities that we’ve had to sort out. Watching a pet deteriorate is tough for sure, but I’m sure your blogging fam will help you through it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Opinionated Man · February 12, 2016

    I hope he feels better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · February 12, 2016

      Thanks Man, he had a really good night last night. Appreciate your stopping by, reading and especially commenting!

      Like

  7. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · February 17, 2016

    Great big hugs Lennon to you and your dog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

