My Single Days Part II

Twenty eight years old, it was 9:00  on a Friday night. I was in bed with fleece pajamas, my blonde hair in long braided pigtails, eating ice cream with my dog watching the first season of Sex In The City on DVD. My phone rings…..”Hello?” My friend Jenny is on the other line “Why are you at home? I told you to meet us here at the bar at 9:00!!!” Me: “Whatever Jenny, I don’t feel like getting dressed up and shit and hanging out at a bar. I’m watching SITC and eating ice cream and in bed, come over and watch it with me.” Jenny: “Are you insane, you need a life, get up here, I need a DD anyways and you promised.” Me: “Alright, Fine! I’m only coming up there because you’re drinking and need a driver.”

I cut off the TV , throw on my jeans, shoes, flannel shirt and my baseball cap over my long braids and noticed I had no make up on. So I did manage to put a little blush on my cheeks and some lip gloss. Off I went to the bar about 10 minutes from my place.

I park and get to the door and the “gate keeper” asks to see my ID. Maybe tonight won’t be too bad seeing as I just got carded and I’m 28. I go straight to the far right corner where my crew always hangs out and immediately I smile. There are my five girls looking fabulous. They were the best looking chic’s in there for sure. Two brunette’s, two blondes and one red head. They were all in their high heels, skirts, dresses, lip gloss, glitter bronzer on their chests and cheeks and drinking their cosmo’s when I approached.

As I get closer the smiles slowly fade away and they look like they smell something foul. I’m looking behind me to see what they’re looking at that must look so scary and I see nothing. I sit down and Jenny says “What the fuck Lennon? Why are you dressed like a truck driver? Jesus, you have all of those amazing clothes and you choose to wear this?”

Yeah, I’m that girl that has always had the I don’t care attitude. As I laugh at Jenny’s comment and snap back “You’re the one who begged me to come out, so here I am. Too bad you don’t find me attractive because $20 says I walk away with more digits than any of you tonight.” So, that night at the club although I dressed like a truck driver, I put my dancing skills to the test and laid my charming as fuck personality on as thick as I could and of course I walked away with an extra $20 and a few digits that I’d never call. That’s not the only thing I walked away with…..

The girls all piled into my SUV along with some dude that Jenny had been making out with in the corner of the bar. The ride home turned out to be pretty disgusting as Jenny winded up puking in my car and the dude she had snagged wanted to get out immediately. We left him on a curb somewhere downtown and I got Jenny and the rest of the girls home safe and sound. Memories, fun memories with my girls. How I miss them. But, I don’t miss their drunk puking asses in my car, I can tell you that. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

17 comments

  1. Jim · January 28, 2016

    you had my attention at “redhead”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan · January 28, 2016

    The attitude alone would have caught my attention seeing you dressed like that amongst the typical gaggle of well-dressed, ‘look at me’ girls in the corner. Well done!
    But that poor guy…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 28, 2016

      Yes, poor guy….he winded up being a great friend. He turned out to be at the bar often & was an incredible wing man. We had signals when we needed to be saved…He would pretend to be our boyfriend. So he became part of the crew 😂

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Lauren Zazzara · January 28, 2016

    Haha I love this story! I probably would have done the same thing if my friends dragged me out of having a peaceful night at home. Good for you for getting those digits girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sonofabeach96 · January 28, 2016

    Not much worse than puke in a car. Takes forever for the smell to fade.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. plotless1 · January 29, 2016

    the dude is lucky she didn’t puke in his mouth as they were making out. ugh. I hate the smell of puke.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. strugglingwriter · January 29, 2016

    Nicely written and a fun story. I can’t say I miss those days, from the dude’s perspective at least.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carisa Adrienne · January 29, 2016

    Your sexy as fuck As my friends would say back in the day. Haha! I’ve had those same nights! The betting and everything! We were some gambling fools back then! Loves this! ❤️ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The V-Pub · January 30, 2016

    The good old days, eh? Lol. I think single days provide for some excellent blog ideas. Btw, it would appear that the WP gremlins unfollowed your blog. Must’ve been that or my big thumbs. Mea culpa.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Looking Back…Part II | Fabulous With Glitches

Leave a Reply

