Pain

image

So many people endure a pain we know nothing about…..

It can be cancer, epilepsy, migraine headaches, hepatitis c, testing HIV positive. Someone that’s having to hide their sexuality or being transgender. A person losing a child or a spouse, their world is shattered into a thousand pieces. What about a pain of making a life changing mistake and spending time in prison. How about addiction?

How quick do we judge someone else’s pain? I hear it so often at work people making jokes about depression, transgender people, racism and so much more. Where is our decency, compassion and kindness? Why would people joke and judge someone else’s pain…..

I’m guilty of it subconsciously in my mind. I don’t join in the joking, teasing, and gossiping but at times it’s in the back of mind. When I discover it I catch myself and mentally put myself in their shoes. What if I were a woman but had male tendencies all my life and desired to be a man? What if I stole groceries to feed my children? There are so many what if’s. We do not know what others are going through so the quote above is certainly true.

We wouldn’t want someone to mock our pain would we? I believe in most of our cases we’ve all had some type of pain, struggle, despair or torment in our lives.

Let’s take that into consideration the next time we don’t fully understand someone’s circumstances or pain. We should try to be more compassionate. Just think how kind and beautiful this world would be?

XOXO

22 comments

  1. bleedingheartspoetry · January 16, 2016

    One person can never truly understand another’s persons pain. We can also never understands another persons threshold for pain.

    What may be a minor annoyance for me, may be crippling for someone else.

    I openly admit I have cracked jokes about gay, trans, bi, handicapped, nuns, races, religions, even clubbing baby seals.. The only reason I justify my actions is that I’m an equal opportunity asshole. I crack jokes about everyone and everything including myself.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. The V-Pub · January 16, 2016

    Wise words, Lennon. I should take this advice and use it. I’m not beyond being judgmental.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carisa Adrienne · January 16, 2016

    ❀ y

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wendy · January 16, 2016

    Very true. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carisa Adrienne · January 16, 2016

    I’m so sorry that’s not what I was trying to say. Don’t know how or why that’s there. I feel this post is very important. Everyone is fighting some kind of battle.
    Sorry about the “Y”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Simon · January 16, 2016

    As always,great words πŸ˜ƒ

    Like

  7. Makaitah · January 17, 2016

    I am so guilty of this 😦 thank you soon much for this. My mind is renewed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 17, 2016

      We’re human and it’s in our nature to do this, just a little reminder to myself and everyone that we should be so much more compassionate, πŸ™‚ Thank you for stopping by and reading and especially for commenting.

      Liked by 2 people

  8. elunedamurphy · January 17, 2016

    Yes, this is so like NVC (nonviolentcommunication) that I’m totally into. One of the ideas I love from it is that if you are in pain about the way someone is acting, and you don’t understand it, empathise with them first, and this will release your pain. Lovely thought x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 17, 2016

      What a beautiful way of putting it….thank you for stopping by and most of all taking the time to comment πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · January 22, 2016

    One of my fav sayings is “you can’t judge somebody’s life off a snap shot” And since I am not sure who said I am taking the credit

    Liked by 1 person

  10. John W. Howell · March 19

    Those in pain can relate to others in pain. I think those who are not in pain should be thankful enough not to mock those who are. Good reminder Lennon.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. John Fioravanti · March 19

    This is a thoughtful and timely reminder to all of us, Lennon. You’re right, we’re way too quick to judge others. I’ve often thought that this rush to judgement stems from a person who needs to find flaws in other in order to feel better about him or herself. We, as human beings, share far more in common than our differences. When you think about that, our commonality stems from our shared human nature. The rest is relatively insignificant.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sonofabeach96 · March 20

    Amen, man. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

