Gratitude

I know I’m going to be late for work because I’m writing this post but I don’t care. I need to get it off my chest.

My friend Rhonnie gave me this idea and I love her for it. I tell her all of the time she’s my muse.

This isn’t just for the ladies, it’s for the guys too.

How many times have we said to ourselves, “Why can’t I have her legs? My legs are curvy but I want long, straight, defined legs.” Dudes, ever wish you had a bigger penis, or wish you were built like Channing Tatum or something? I think men and women compare themselves to others so much, they lose sight of what is beautiful about themselves. I’m talking about body insecurities and wanting something better than what we have.

Why can’t we just have gratitude for what we already have? For instance, although I want Rhonnie’s long legs, mine are great. Even though I have naturally curly hair, I want the Jennifer Anniston straight shiny hair. But, I’m beautiful just the way that I am. I have some fantastic features.

I need my legs to walk. So, why bitch about them not being long enough? What if I didn’t have legs, I need to be thankful for these legs, arms, toes, eyes,Β  etc. What about our health? I complained the other day when I had a really bad headache. But, my friend Rhonnie suffers from chronic migraines. She can’t even work. It’s so bad that her Mom bought a picture frame which had a scent to it (possibly purchased from Kirkland’s) a few weeks ago and she didn’t know it and it gave her a migraine for 10 days straight, very sick. Just the simplest little thing like going to the Dr. or Starbucks and smelling different scents triggers these horrible God awful headaches.

She hardly ever complains, she’s grateful for her life and the positives in it. My point to all of this is we should have gratitude for our bodies, minds, health, every single fucking thing in our lives. It could be so much worse.

I should stop complaining and whining about what I don’t have and appreciate what I do have. We all have some great attributes, let’s be thankful for them. I think we could all show more gratitude for ourselves don’t you think?

So, let’s appreciate our bodies and mental mindset loves and start the day off right, shall we?

XOXO

 

25 comments

  1. The V-Pub · January 14, 2016

    A beautiful post! I know that I take a lot of things in my life for granted that I should be grateful for. Health, family, a decent job. So yeah, more gratitude for me going forward, and less, um, size wishing. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 14, 2016

      Awe Thanks Man! So, you’re a musician correct? Send me a link so I can hear something pretty please? lennoncarlyle@gmail.com

      Liked by 1 person

      • The V-Pub · January 14, 2016

        Will do!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The V-Pub · January 14, 2016

        Hi Lennon – I’ve just sent you an Mp3 of one of my songs.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · January 15, 2016

        As you know I listed to your song on the way home and it made me tear up, beautiful! I love the War song and Life’s Been Good, you’re extremely talented!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The V-Pub · January 15, 2016

        Thanks, Lennon! Glad you liked them. Again, my voice sucks eggs, but writing and recording songs is cathartic for me. πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. Simon · January 14, 2016

    You’re fucking amazing Lennon… I try and do this but my stupid human brain is a stupid thing, it alwys wants. Thank you for reminding me of the importance of me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Wendy · January 14, 2016

    Well said! Gratitude makes what you have better. Have a great day.

    Like

  4. makingtimeforme · January 14, 2016

    Absolutely. If you don’t love yourself, how can anyone else?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lex Jones · January 14, 2016

    I love this! And we should remember to be grateful and to find joy and beauty in our “perceived” flaws.
    And on a side note, if anyone should have longer legs…its me…not you! Lol.
    Great post, Beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. acquiescent72 · January 14, 2016

    This post is awesome. Sadly, we live in a society of constant comparison and we have lost track of what is truly important in life.
    After reading this, I’m truly thankful to have come across your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 14, 2016

      You are too sweet…..Hugs!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • acquiescent72 · January 14, 2016

        Thanks for the compliment, but I’m much bitchier than you might think…lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · January 14, 2016

        No way! I don’t believe it Ha!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • acquiescent72 · January 15, 2016

        πŸ˜‰

        Like

  7. A Pondering Mind · January 14, 2016

    Well written post, and you was spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ferddhie · January 15, 2016

    I know! I know! I know! One minute I’m telling myself I like me just the way I am and the next minute I’m seeing pictures of the quintessential male body and asking myself why I am so inadequate. Those feelings may never go, I guess but timely posts like this will make me appreciate me. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · January 21, 2016

    Love it πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

