Approval Denied

image

It’s taken me years to understand that I need no one’s approval to live my life. I’ve been guilty of worrying what others think of me. Well fuck that noise! Approval denied by anyone other than myself…..PERIOD.

I can remember my Mom telling me to keep quiet about living with my boyfriend years ago. She was embarrassed that I was “living in sin”. Well, at that years family reunion a couple of my nosey, snobby, hypocritical Aunts asked me in front of my boyfriend and my Mom “when are ya’ll going to get married and have kids?” In my mind I’m thinking what the fuck? I thought it was none of their business….I bluntly said “we’re not getting married, we’re shacking up and don’t like kids so we’re not having any.” My poor Mom looked like she wanted to crawl under the table and my Aunts dropped their mouths.

Point is it’s my life and I make my decisions whether they meet your standards or not. Maybe I don’t have standards? Ha! It’s about my happiness.

The same goes for everyone else. No judgment from this chic. Approval isn’t needed from anyone to live your life. I found that once I didn’t care what people thought of me I discovered happiness. Freedom to be yourself is pure blissfulness! Do what makes you happy!

XOXO

13 comments

  1. Jonathan · December 2, 2015

    Brilliant πŸ™‚ Luckily I never had any elderly relatives like that – but I know people who did πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren Zazzara · December 2, 2015

    This was so empowering! I have such a problem worrying about what others think about me. I think that’s why judgmental people bother me so much; I’m afraid of them. But why should I seek anyone’s approval but my own? It’s my life πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · December 2, 2015

      You’re so correct Sweetness! It is your life. Make it beautiful, crazy, fun, memorable & whatever else you want it to be. ❀ Thank you for reading & commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. elementhealing · December 3, 2015

    Good for you, it took me a while to learn that same lesson. It’s a wonderful feeling isn’t it?

    Like

  4. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · December 3, 2015

    I was lucky enough to learn that lesson early on in life, as such I became the first person in my family to get divorced, strangly I had learnt do what makes you happy just after I got married, which I never should of done. Also the first one of my very catholic family to have a baby out of wedlock.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Neha · December 8, 2015

    Hehe πŸ™‚ I always think what others are thinking about me after smoking weed..
    Regards,
    Neha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

