Monday’s Stance

Have you ever heard the phrase “you wear your emotions on your sleeve”? I’ve noticed at my office a lot of the women seem to be wearing emotions like the latest Michael Kors handbags.

Just recently a female co-worker was hurt that I didn’t make eye contact with her when she was speaking to me. In my defense I was concentrating on schematics and working on a quote while she was telling me about her menstrual cycle and personal drama. I was listening and nodding politely while looking up part numbers. Later that day I read her Facebook rant about how people should be considerate and look at someone when they’re having a conversation. Maybe she wasn’t referring to me you’re thinking? Um, yeah, she was. The next day I mentioned how I saw her facebook status and how if she was referring to me I wanted to apologize. Instead of her saying “It’s alright, I knew you were busy and that status wasn’t about you.” She proceeded to get an attitude about how rude she thought I was and how it hurt her feelings and then as though that wasn’t bad enough, she started crying while giving me a piece of her mind. Sigh… I quickly hugged her and told her my intentions were not to hurt her and that sometimes I’m in a zone which is called work. She didn’t like that answer either.

I’m not one to be emotional at work but I work with six other women that are. So far I’ve made three out of six cry. Not on purpose of course. It’s difficult for me as I don’t understand it. I’m not an emotional person unless it has to do with veterans, death, children or puppies. It takes a lot for me to cry or to get emotional. For the most part I keep my emotions in check. I do pop off wise cracks and am sarcastic at times but for some reason I get away with that at work.

No matter the situation, never let your emotions fuck with your intelligence. Emotions in the office or with your career make you helpless and weak. Hold your shit together as you’re better than that bullshit. You came to work to succeed and to get paid. You’re not there to get wrapped up in drama or to let something bring you down. Keep your chin up and move forward.

Smell that? That’s fresh ambition brewing….

We all have ambition inside of us that’s eager to be released so that we can achieve our goals. Sure, sometimes it’s taking a nap or on hiatus but for the most part it’s there.

Tomorrow we need to wake up determined to rise. Rise above the negativity and shit from other co-workers. You know you bring something to the table each and every day. Pull up a chair and serve up that ambition with a side of success.

Let’s bury the haters with our swag and make Monday our bitch. It’s full throttle all day long. From our standpoint everything is conceivable. You dominate your mindset and you are the one that is in control of your perspective.

Kick the excess waste of negativity to the curb. Firm up your stance and stay on course with a hustler’s mentality.

My motto for tomorrow is “All I Do Is Win” – one of my favorite rap songs. Remember, we’re winners, now let’s show up for the game tomorrow.

17 comments

  1. 1crazytownlane · November 30, 2015

    And this is why I enjoy working alone so much! I am very proud that you apologized to her because I really wouldn’t have even thought to do so. I think the rude part was her not first asking if you had time to talk about things not work related. It’s amazing how people fail to realize that they are not the universes center. Nurture is at fault here, this is why my children will say excuse first if they see someone they would like to talk is engaged in conversation or otherwise preoccupied.

    (now I just got to get them to wait for the okay to rant on. Usually they start with excuse me, and then flow through their wants/needs, even if you’ve given them the international finger up sign of super important conversation, one minute please!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · November 30, 2015

      Ha!!!! You’ve taught your kids well my friend. And you are soooo fortunate to work alone. I’m so envious of you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • 1crazytownlane · November 30, 2015

        Thank you! My goal was to instill respect for self and others and lets everything else fall into place.

        Well when the snow starts falling in my neck of the woods I’m going to surely want to change careers for the season!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · November 30, 2015

    wow you work with some overly emotional and passive aggresive people. I wouldn’t of thought to say sorry. I would of pointed out that if they had a problem with me, it would be best to discuss it with me, rather than slag me off on facebook like a petulant teenager.

    But then there is a reason why I don’t get on with a lot of people

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · November 30, 2015

      Ha! Yes, I do work with those type of people and you know something? I hear stuff like this too from other friends, crazy!

      Liked by 1 person

      • itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · November 30, 2015

        I wonder if with the invention of Facebook the human race growth suddenly stopped at teenager. Before facebook you would have to talk to people to resolve problems. And get your photos of your dinner developed and go round all your friends houses and demand that they like them :-p

        Like

  3. Lennon Carlyle · November 30, 2015

    Too funny! I needed a good laugh this morning. I’m over FB currently. Too much fucking drama and politics if you ask me. Have a great Monday my friend!

    Like

  4. Lennon Carlyle · January 31, 2016

    Reblogged this on Fabulous With Glitches and commented:

    Monday’s Stance

    Like

  5. Simon · January 31, 2016

    I love the thought of you accidentally upsetting your co-workers. Like you can do it without thinking about it. I know what you mean about the workplace, there’s all the shit from everyone above and around you and you just have to get on with it, every single day.
    Have a great Monday Lennon… I’m going to pop off to sleep soon to meet with mine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 31, 2016

      I’m just too blunt sometimes Simon unaware of the backlash it can cause me. LOL Oh well, that’s just me. Nighty Night!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Simon · January 31, 2016

        It is, and you’ve got to be loved for it. Nighty night. I’ll see you soon I hope 🙂

        Like

  6. nananettie1969 · January 31, 2016

    There are a time and a place for emotions like your fellow co-worker
    displayed. Work is not one of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 31, 2016

      It’s difficult to see someone cry for me but in this case I was blown away. Thanks for reading & commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • nananettie1969 · February 1, 2016

        I am on the other end of the spectrum cried about everything and took everything literally! It is not always good to do this. Winds a person up and they can’t see things how they really are. In your case you were working. She should keep that in mind and not be so literal about you not making eye contact. I have learned to relax more and not cry over shit like that. Bottom line it’s a work place…….

        Liked by 1 person

      • nananettie1969 · February 2, 2016

        Hi I have nominated you for the Room 101 award. It seems right up your alley as it was mine. To read rules and such see my post Room 101 award. Thanks Annette

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lennon Carlyle · February 2, 2016

        Thank you soooooo much! I’ll definitely check it, you’re the sweetest!

        Liked by 1 person

      • nananettie1969 · February 2, 2016

        Thanks you are pretty peachy too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

