Releasing Hate

Normally I steer away from politics, sex, religion, and other topics that cause roaring and confrontation. But, I felt the need to blog about this one because I see or hear about it every single day.

Today’s bothersome topic is HATE. I’m talking about the hate for homosexuality and transgender people.

First, I want to explain to all of you that I’m a heterosexual white female. I was raised in the south as a baptist. I no longer go to church but I do pray. I’m not a religious bible thumper or shove God in your face and preach and quote bible scriptures.

If you’re against homosexuality and transgender people let me ask you a few things….

1.) Does it keep you up at night? If so, take a fucking sleeping pill already.

2.) Why does it concern you? Live your life and sit the hell down.

3.) Is it any of your business? No, it’s really not. Do you think homosexuals or transgender people care if you’re straight?

I constantly hear people whether it’s at work, grocery store, on TV, etc. condemning homosexuality and transgender people.

Last I checked this is a free country. Who do you think you are to judge them? Again, it’s really none of your business. They can live their lives however they choose to. Quit focusing on them and worry about your self and your own life. Or better yet get a life.

Just the other day I was speaking with a co-worker in the break room at work and we were talking about our favorite shows. I was telling her about OITNB, Modern Family and Wentworth. She gasped and said to me “You do realize you’re going to hell if you support and watch that stuff don’t you?” I said “Are you serious? You’re one of THOSE people that judges others and decides that they’re going to hell? Really?” She then said ” I cannot have friendships with gays or watch them because the bible says I’ll burn in hell.”

Ahem……..choking a bit on this one. Shaking as I’m taking in the ignorance and hatred and deciding how I’m about to address this…..

I then state “God loves everyone. You are not God, you are not better than anyone else. You sin by eating too much. See those three donuts on your plate, that’s called gluttony but that’s none of my business. You think God is going to make you burn in hell because you ate three donuts? That’s a sin. How is your sin different than theirs? God doesn’t rank them like a top 20 countdown. Another thing, if you were dying and needed a kidney “The Gays” as you call them would be one of the first people to give you a fucking kidney. Bet you’d take a gay kidney wouldn’t ya?”

If I had a mic I would’ve dropped it and walked away flipping my hair.

My husband said I was a bit harsh with her but I was LIVID to say the least. I don’t get the HATE in this world. How is anyone that cruel?

I honestly don’t think these people that continue to preach about homosexuality realize the circumstances at hand. I watched L Word Mississippi: Hate The Sin the other night. It was heart wrenching to watch. People are committing suicide everyday due to their family not accepting them.

Would you want to be the reason someone took their own life? Because they’re being shamed by you and put down because they’re different than you? If you’re making someone feel less of a person because they’re choosing a different life than you then to me that’s like murder. It’s almost as if you’re giving them the gun and saying, “Go on, do it.”

I still cannot understand the parents finding out their children are homosexual and then disowning them. What the fuck is wrong with people? You cut someone off because they love the same sex? You’re that righteous to think that you’re better than them and choose to disassociate with your very own child? It’s disgusting.

Being raised a baptist I was preached to over and over again about homosexuality and tons of other sins. My mother being a very strong christian woman saw things a bit differently. She always told me no matter what race, religion, sexual orientation people are that they’re God’s children and they’re all beautiful.

In my eyes we are to love and appreciate every single person and their differences. God made each of us who we are and loves us unconditionally. He forgives us too.

If you’re a homophobic person I just ask that you try to love and except what’s different from you. Just because they love the same sex and are not just like you doesn’t mean they’re harming you. They want to live their lives just like you do. Not every homosexual or transgender person is going to hit on you. Are you that confident that homosexuals think you’re worthy of flipping? They’re not out to molest you. Believe me. Get over yourself and your harsh thoughts and pull yourself together. It’s 2016 and whether you like it or not, this world is moving forward with or without you.

HATE is not in the forecast for the future. It’s nothing but rainbows, unicorns, puppies, kittens, cupcakes, skittles and peace if you ask me.

XOXO

17 comments

  1. Wendy · October 14, 2015

    I’m with you on this. It’s a travesty for sure. I don’t want the homosexual agenda stuffed down my throat, and I certainly don’t want the religious BS shoved down theirs.
    If people would just calm themselves a bit, on both sides and focus on what we all have in common, eyes might be opened that we are all just a bit odd. It’s worth it to try to see the good, not the ‘different’.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bleedingheartspoetry · October 14, 2015

    People fear what they don’t know or don’t understand.. Fear and ignorance breed hate. I am a straight male from the country in the Bible Belt (we still can’t even buy alcohol on Sunday’s) and lost several “friends” because of my public support of gay marriage.

    Growing up most everyone thought I was gay.. I did nothing to dispel the rumors, didn’t even argue against them.. When I was asked I would simply say “does it really matter?”
    Live and let live, find a love that suits you, and live in peaceful bliss.. That is my motto.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Tish Wolfsong · October 14, 2015

    What a beautiful post!
    I’m going to bookmark this as a reference point for whenever I feel hatred coming my way because one can substitute the word homosexual with just about anything that causes someone to be attacked or abused because of their being “different”. (In my case transgender).
    Thank you for making my day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Opinionated Man · October 18, 2015

    Good words here.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lennon Carlyle · November 3, 2015

    Reblogged this on Fabulous With Glitches and commented:

    I posted this a few weeks ago but today I heard something at work that pissed me off and reminded me of this blog so thought I would share it with you again.

    Like

  6. itsathought2 · January 31, 2016

    THANK YOU!
    Its always a struggle to figure out how to speak against hate. Especially when it falls out of the mouth of someone who seems so very nice in all other respects.
    Its like they have his big black gangrenous limb that they are carrying around and don’t even realize it. They think its perfectly fine that they are rotting from the inside.
    I think calling them on their hate introduces them to the idea that there might be something rotting inside of them. They aren’t going to change then, but it will slowly sink in if they are indeed a decent person.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lennon Carlyle · January 31, 2016

      It’s amazing that they don’t see the hate inside of them but then it spews out of their mouths. People think because someone else lives differently that it’s wrong. Love is love. They need to recognize that.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. socialbridge · January 31, 2016

    If only there were more like you in this crazy world of ours!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · February 5, 2016

    Reblogged this on itsgoodtobecrazysometimes and commented:
    This reminded me of a west wing scene

    Except Lennon does it with more swear words 😉

    Like

  9. Lady G · July 31, 2016

    Tell it Lennon! You got her right didn’t you girl!
    By the way, you read my mind! I was planning to do a post on this myself.
    Throughout my life, I have had many VERY close relationships with both gay men and women. I have loved them like siblings and I still do 🙂 That said, I am a huge supporter of LGBTQ rights.
    And so….there was the time that a co-worker told me that she refused to go to her friend’s same-sex marriage but she had just celebrated the ‘anniversary’ of a straight unmarried couple who had lived together for years. Seriously? Did she think they weren’t fvcking? And if they were, they were ‘SINNING!’
    Lennon, my sweet, she was talking to the WRONG girl!
    Like you, I had to check her and say: “If you are going to point out ‘sins’ baby–pick them ALL out!” I told her that I don’t understand why we choose to turn our head at some ‘sins’ while damning people for others. That shit irks the living hell out of me!!
    Surprisingly, that co-worker thanked me for bringing this to her attention. I told her that it was my pleasure 🙂
    Thanks for a great post girl and hugs to you!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lennon Carlyle · July 31, 2016

      So happy you think like me….I think? LOL That could be a bad thing Darling 😁 Can’t wait to read your post about this. Bring it girl!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lady G · July 31, 2016

        LOL! I don’t need to do a post on it now!-though my comment seems like one 😉
        You brought the house down and dropped the mic! LOL 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

