Guts And Grit

I remember many years ago kids making fun of me in school. They would play pranks on me and trip me when I walked into class. I wore huge glasses and had a terrible perm and a lot of acne. I was seriously a COLD mess. I’m not even going to call it a hot mess because there wasn’t anything hot about that situation. Ha!

I was extremely weak and timid. I would take their shit over and over and do nothing about it. Until, one day I came across one of my friends pinned up against a wall in the gym by four guys. They were making fun of her and knocked her glasses off and then punched her in the stomach. I dropped my books and ran over to them like I was cat woman or something. I started pulling them off of her and kicked one in the throat and another one in the dick. They were dropping like flies and running away from me. I chased them until they ran out of the gym.

As I walked back over to my friend that was sobbing and slumped in the floor…..I asked her if she was OK? She took a few deep breaths as I helped her up she doubled over laughing hysterically. I said what’s so funny? She then said you’re little skinny timid ass just whipped some serious ass. At that moment I realized that I had a wonderful fantastic trait. This trait being BAD ASS! Who knew? Where had it been the entire time that everyone was making fun of ME and putting ME down?

Here’s the thing. I didn’t care how they treated me. I could take it. But, you mess with my people I will fuck you up. I didn’t even know that I had that courage inside of me. From that moment on, no one messed with me, EVER.

Often I would get in fights at school due to bullies. I notice it’s a huge issue in today’s society. Back in the 80’s and 90’s no one seemed to care. There wasn’t an awareness like there is today. You had to fend for yourself.

Each of us have a fire inside of us. You might not realize it yet but you’re a fighter. Whether you fight for yourself or not…..I guarantee if someone were to threaten someone you love you would easily go Cat Woman on their ass in a split second.

There’s nothing wrong with being a little scrappy when needed. Having a backbone sometimes intimidates others. Too bad. We all should stand our ground.

There’s a feeling of liberation when speaking up for yourself or someone else. Stand up for what’s right.

Guts & Grit All Day! XOXO

3 comments

  1. bleedingheartspoetry · October 3, 2015

    I was very much the same as you. I did not even break 100 pounds till half way through my freshman year of high school. I was by far the smallest guy in school, but no one messed with me or anyone I cared about. This is because I had a little sister that was a grade behind me, when she was in 5th grade and I was in 6th a boy in my class and his older brother thought it would be a good idea to grope her on the bus. She yelled for them to stop and I heard her and when I saw what they were doing I proceeded to beat them both with the binding of one of my school books. I was suspended from school for 2 weeks, got a beating of my own when the school called my mom.. But my little sister was safe and no one ever treated her like that again.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

